Community discussions

 
erlan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:39 am

High CPU usage.

Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:46 am

Help to deal with the problem of high load (up to 100%) of the processor on the CRS112-8G-4S.
There are up to 10 pppoe customers.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
krautzj
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 12:03 pm

Re: High CPU usage.

Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:03 pm

Even though the CRS112-8G-4S can be configured to be a router and firewall, it is not well suited for it. I think you'll find the problem you have with the high load on the CPU is because the CPU in the CRS112-8G-4S is simply not powerful enough for queues and firewall rules. You would have better results if the routing, queues and firewalls were done by a dedicated router, and the switch was used only for switching.

From looking at your firewall rules it seems like you must already have a router somewhere that manages Internet access. You could try moving some of your configuration to that device and see if it helps.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: High CPU usage.

Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:41 pm

I think your firewall rules can be improved upon, i.e. your very first 2 rules are incorrect and will never work as expected, they are the wrong way around.

Also try making use of fasttrack in firewall to reduce CPU usage
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: High CPU usage.

Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:49 pm

Or disable rule #7 to check if usage will drop? There are lots of packets "firing" this rule.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
blajah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:58 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: High CPU usage.

Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:30 pm

Do you have default deny rule in input chain? What is in your connection tracking table? Sources you added to address list, you can drop in RAW firewall.
I have bigger routing table.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: High CPU usage.

Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:46 am

in one case I found a script that was running continuously caused high cpu usage.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: High CPU usage.

Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:50 am

Help to deal with the problem of high load (up to 100%) of the processor on the CRS112-8G-4S.
There are up to 10 pppoe customers.

You Choose a frong device for this job,
How fast is your Upstream connection?
 
erlan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:39 am

Re: High CPU usage.

Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:31 pm

I think your firewall rules can be improved upon, i.e. your very first 2 rules are incorrect and will never work as expected, they are the wrong way around.
Or disable rule #7 to check if usage will drop? There are lots of packets "firing" this rule.
I already dasbled all the rules, but it did not give a positive result
in one case I found a script that was running continuously caused high cpu usage.
Tell me which one?
You Choose a frong device for this job,
How fast is your Upstream connection?
15Mb/s
 
raidu
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: High CPU usage.

Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Sorry, but this device is not meant to handle any tunneling and the CPU load you are experiencing is normal.
The CRS112-8G-4S is a routing capable switch, where the routing function is mainly for management purposes.

The cheapest MT device that would handle some tunneling is the RB750Gr3 ie. HEX
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: High CPU usage.

Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:16 pm

I regularly see CRS112's hitting 100% on the CPU just from an SNMP call. I even see my one at home doing 80% just from viewing it in Winbox. Others have pointed out optimisations for you but you should probably invest and replace the device with either an RB2011 or RB3011.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
poizzon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:53 pm

Re: High CPU usage.

Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:11 am

https://youtu.be/3LmQYIQ5RoA?t=843

Sometimes the situation is not going to happen to you?
--
poi
 
Cartman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:14 pm

Re: High CPU usage.

Thu Feb 14, 2019 8:54 pm

OK, I know the thread is a bit older, nut I have the same problem.
Already took a RB2011 for routing and load balancing and let
the crs112 do the switching, but is´nt there a device that does
it all?
What about the CRS328-24P ? It is a bit bigger, but that shoud not
be a problem as long as it can do the routing without reaching
its limits.
I need a device that can do load balancing for two WANs and
switching for 6 connected devices (now Groove, might change).
AND: It has to provide power for the connected device. There are
not too many RBs with such many PoE-outs.
The CRS328 also has only one CPU, would that be enough ?

Thanks for your replies.
Wayne
 
Dude2048
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: High CPU usage.

Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:06 pm

Buy a ccr.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests