Community discussions

 
Charlie86
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:54 pm

.mynetname.net

Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:53 pm

Is it possible to change .mynetname.net address for VPN access on router?
I bought used MikroTik router and want to change this address.
 
User avatar
Anumrak
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1032
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: .mynetname.net

Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:01 pm

I think you can't, because it working not on config level, but on ROS level. So you can use IP updating from other dns hoster based on script.
 
Charlie86
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:54 pm

Re: .mynetname.net

Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:04 am

Thank you. What script should I use. Sorry for dumb question I am still a beginner.
 
HzMeister
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: .mynetname.net

Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:34 am

You can't change it.
However, what I do is add it to the dns records of my dns manager, effectively having the ip update automatically while using the domain of my choosing.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: .mynetname.net

Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:35 am

You may be able to set up an address list with the mynetname server name in it and then create mangle rule for output traffic to that address list to be marked and then route that marked traffic out the vpn. It would then see the WAN ip of the VPN endpoint.

I’m sure it would be possible.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
raidu
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: .mynetname.net

Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:11 pm

There is no reason to change the ddns name, since it is deriverd as:
'serial'.sn.mynetname.net where serial is the 'serial' is the serial of the device.

If you are afraid of an old user trying to access your device, you simply use firewall to keep them at bay.
 
yhfung
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: .mynetname.net

Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:19 am

Is it possible to change .mynetname.net address for VPN access on router?
I bought used MikroTik router and want to change this address.
The answer is no but you can use another ddns, for instance changeip. For details, please take a look at the following posts.

http://www.telecom-cafe.com/forum/viewt ... t=changeip

YH

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 42 guests