Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
schadom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 am

CCR - Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:47 am

Hi,

I'm wondering about the new bridge implementation since 6.40.x. Is it recommended to have a single or multiple bridges when a bunch of tagged vlans should be bridged to different ether ports? For example, let's assume we have three physical ether ports (and no switch-chip) and three tagged vlans;

Vlans:
/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 name=ether1-vlan100 vlan-id=100
add interface=ether1 name=ether1-vlan200 vlan-id=200
add interface=ether2 name=ether2-vlan200 vlan-id=200
add interface=ether2 name=ether2-vlan300 vlan-id=300
add interface=ether3 name=ether3-vlan100 vlan-id=100
add interface=ether3 name=ether3-vlan300 vlan-id=300

1) Dedicated bridge for each vlan:
/interface bridge
add name=bridge-vlan100
add name=bridge-vlan200
add name=bridge-vlan300

/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge-vlan100 hw=no interface=ether1-vlan100
add bridge=bridge-vlan100 hw=no interface=ether3-vlan100
add bridge=bridge-vlan200 hw=no interface=ether1-vlan200
add bridge=bridge-vlan200 hw=no interface=ether2-vlan200
add bridge=bridge-vlan300 hw=no interface=ether2-vlan300
add bridge=bridge-vlan300 hw=no interface=ether3-vlan300

2) Single bridge with all vlans assigned to the same bridge and bridge vlans:
/interface bridge
add name=vlan-bridge

/interface bridge port
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether1-vlan100
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether3-vlan100
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether1-vlan200
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether2-vlan200
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether2-vlan300
add bridge=vlan-bridge hw=no interface=ether3-vlan300

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=vlan-bridge tagged=ether1 vlan-ids=100,200
add bridge=vlan-bridge tagged=ether2 vlan-ids=200,300
add bridge=vlan-bridge tagged=ether3 vlan-ids=100,200

Is there any benefit (besides better manageability)?
Is there any performance difference (on an CCR for Example)?

Thanks
Last edited by schadom on Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:05 pm, edited 3 times in total.
 
schadom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 am

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:30 am

Anyone?
 
dhcpy
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:38 am

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:49 am

Which one does this work for you?
Because I'm having trouble making it work...at all
 
almdandi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:57 pm

Here is a presentation from the MUM in Berlin, explaining the new bridge implementation pretty well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMMpza-O7_w&
 
schadom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 am

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:45 pm

Here is a presentation from the MUM in Berlin, explaining the new bridge implementation pretty well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMMpza-O7_w&
Thanks!
 
squeeze
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:45 pm

Unless you have a switch chip, its single bridge for all VLANs. Also, why are you explicitly disabling hardware offloading?

You may also need to add the bridge name itself to the "tagged=" list for trunks to other devices.
 
schadom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 am

Re: Mikrotik Bridge usage with multiple Vlans

Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:05 pm

Unless you have a switch chip, its single bridge for all VLANs. Also, why are you explicitly disabling hardware offloading?

You may also need to add the bridge name itself to the "tagged=" list for trunks to other devices.

Thanks for the hint. The example given is from a CCR which does not support hw-offload.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ecks0fa, tfcoulson, vingjfg and 42 guests