Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dsoodak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:36 am

Wirelessly extending network into another building

Mon May 07, 2018 10:53 pm

We have someone who wants to extend their network into another building but it is inconvenient to lay cable between.

I am attempting to set up the "Virtual Clients" option described by https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... al_Clients and it looks like the simplest and doesn't seem to require special settings on the main AP.

It says this is supported from 6.35 only in wireless-rep or wireless-cm2 package, but the changelog said one of these is obsolete
and the other renamed to "wireless" which is included in bundle "routeros" package. Fortunately, this is listed in my router's System->Packages screen (both routers are new).

On the main (connected to internet) mikrotik has ssid "Test" and in both Wireless->Interfaces->wlan1->Wireless security profile is shown as "default" so I am using the command on the second/repeater router: /interface> wireless add mode=station master-interface=wlan1 ssid=Test security-profile=default. This makes a virtual lan "wlan2" appear in the list but still no internet connection.

The ssid of the second router is Test2 and I have the same wireless password on both.

I'm guessing there is something wrong with the bridge (or other) settings but I am not enough of an expert to be able to locate the problem(s).
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 6:35 am

How much speed do you need....
 
yhfung
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 12:33 pm

dsoodak,

You have to verify that the virtual AP named test is able to access the internet using any mobile WiFi devices that you have.

In the remote site, you need to scan the SSID that you are able to see and then connect it if it is found. The remote router has two options.

Option 1: Bridge mode
You have configured the remote router as a bridge

Option 2: Router Mode
The remote router's WiFi wlan acts as WAN port, NAT with masquerade to it LAN bridge.

By the way, are you able to configure the above two options?

YH
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 8:13 pm

When you say you want to extend the network and not lay a cable that sounds like a perfect use case for a Wireless Wire

They are already paired out of the box as a bridge. They beam-form so you just need to mount them on the side of the buildings.
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
dsoodak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:36 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 8:57 pm

When you say you want to extend the network and not lay a cable that sounds like a perfect use case for a Wireless Wire
Overkill in this case(don't really need much more than 10meg), but nice product. Thanks for the info.
 
dsoodak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:36 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 9:27 pm

dsoodak,
In the remote site, you need to scan the SSID that you are able to see and then connect it if it is found. The remote router has two options.
Option 1: Bridge mode
You have configured the remote router as a bridge
Option 2: Router Mode
The remote router's WiFi wlan acts as WAN port, NAT with masquerade to it LAN bridge.
By the way, are you able to configure the above two options?
YH
Do you mean using the remote router to scan for the SSID of the primary one? I'm having trouble searching for how to do this.

I just have the secondary one configured in router mode using Wisp-AP quick set, since this is the one I am most familiar with. The primary router has the normal configuration for connecting to our network via eth1 and I can access the internet through the other ports and with wifi (I chose this method of wireless bridging specifically because it only seemed to require a special setup for the remote router).
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 9:39 pm

To make sure I understand what you are trying to do, is the following accurate?

  • You have two buildlings
  • Both buildings have MikroTik routers with wireless cards
  • You want to second building to be able to act as an access point as well as a client connecting to the other building using the virtual client feature?
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
dsoodak
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:36 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 10:19 pm

To make sure I understand what you are trying to do, is the following accurate?
  • You have two buildlings
  • Both buildings have MikroTik routers with wireless cards
  • You want to second building to be able to act as an access point as well as a client connecting to the other building using the virtual client feature?
Exactly
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 10:28 pm

Based on the above information you used the wireless mode "station". In station mode, you do not have layer 2 bridging so you need to setup a dhcp client on the virtual client for the router to get an IP address and access to the internet. Then you would need to setup a DHCP server for the clients in the secondary building to get internet as well.

If you are wanting to let the primary building handle DHCP, you can try mode "station-bridge" which will have the access point in the primary building keep a forwarding table containing MAC addresses that are reachable in the secondary building allowing you to use the DHCP server in the primary building. Then clients connecting to the wireless in the secondary building can get IP addresses from the primary building. I've never used virtual clients because it impacts performance so let me know if that works out for you.
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
solar77
Member
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Wirelessly extending network into another building

Tue May 08, 2018 10:34 pm

nice illustration on exactly what you are asking
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrW4OVa84O8
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anav and 102 guests