Community discussions

MikroTik App

ehbowen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Setting Up DDNS

Thu May 17, 2018 12:13 am

I'm trying to move my master DNS records in-house. I have two Synology servers on public static IP addresses which run the Synology DNS Server package, which is a BIND variant. I also have another server at my church, on a dynamic IP address behind a MikroTik RB3011 router. According to the Wiki there is supposed to be a command to dynamically update a BIND server, but I can't figure out a way to make it work. I will say that I am a newbie with regards to DNS, and I'm jumping in with both feet not sure whether I need a life jacket...or a parachute!

I'm wanting to move the church email onto the church's own server, so ideally what I'd have is a command to update the bare domain, the www subdomain, and the mail subdomain in case the dynamic IP changes. But the example in the Wiki is very cryptic and I couldn't puzzle it out. Thanks again for any help.

Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Setting Up DDNS

Thu May 17, 2018 12:49 am

The example is as simple as it can be, it's just one command. Only for what you need, it's missing some additional scripting around it, you'll first need to find out that the address changed, get the current one, and then give it to /tool dns-update. I won't give you whole script, because I'm bad with RouterOS scripting, but try to search for something, most likely someone else already did it.