Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Sun May 27, 2018 5:06 pm

Hi, I'm trying to setup my mikrotik rb911-5hnd as a client (station), I can see my AP(TP link CPE510) which is 1.5km away, I'm getting a good signal.
Here's my problem, when I chose my AP from the list and put in my security password, I click on connect, it connects for about 5 seconds and then drops it, starts searching for a couple of seconds and connects, drops it and continues with this loop.
Any thoughts or ideas would be great.
 
User avatar
w32pamela
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Mon May 28, 2018 4:12 pm

That usually indicates an incorrect password
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Mon May 28, 2018 4:13 pm

make sure you check the Log section in Winbox/Webfig, see what the specific error message is
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Mon May 28, 2018 9:15 pm

make sure you check the Log section in Winbox/Webfig, see what the specific error message is
I've checked the log and its connecting and then getting authentication error 2
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Tue May 29, 2018 2:44 pm

make sure you check the Log section in Winbox/Webfig, see what the specific error message is
Ok so I have disabled security and now I can connect, password was correct!
I was able to search for update, download and install, all went well but I have no internet.
I know it must be something that I'm not doing, any ideas
 
solar77
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:42 am
Location: Scotland

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Tue May 29, 2018 2:49 pm

make sure your password is correct and also the authentication type (in wireless, security profile) matches that of your AP.
MTCNA MTCTCE UEWA
 
User avatar
w32pamela
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Tue May 29, 2018 3:17 pm

Are you getting an IP from your AP?
Have you set NAT?
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Tue May 29, 2018 6:23 pm

Are you getting an IP from your AP?
Have you set NAT?
I'm getting an ip, I haven't set NAT, what do I need to do here?
 
User avatar
w32pamela
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Wed May 30, 2018 3:40 pm

If your 911 is configured as a router you need to go to IP->Firewall and set a NAT rule. chain=srcnat action=masquerade out-interface=yourwanport.

If your 911 is set to bridge wlan1 and ether1 then you don't need the firewall nat but you do need to set your wireless mode to "station pseudo-bridge" rather than "station" unless your AP is also a Mikrotik.
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Sat Jun 02, 2018 1:32 am

If your 911 is configured as a router you need to go to IP->Firewall and set a NAT rule. chain=srcnat action=masquerade out-interface=yourwanport.

If your 911 is set to bridge wlan1 and ether1 then you don't need the firewall nat but you do need to set your wireless mode to "station pseudo-bridge" rather than "station" unless your AP is also a Mikrotik.
Thank you so much, I changed to station pseudo-bridge and hey presto- internet.
My next job then was putting security on AP (tp-link CPE510) and adding the passkey to my station, this returned me to my original problem of connecting then dropping connection loop.
My log shows
(My mac)@wlan1-gateway established connection on 5660000, SSID (my AP)
Then
(My mac)@wlan1-gateway: lost connection, received disassociate: authentication not valid (2)
Then continues on this loop.
My AP settings are: SSID: XXXX My Station Settings SSID: XXXX
Security Mode: WPA-PSK Mode: Dynamic Keys
Version: WPA Authentication Types WPA PSK (X)
Encryption: TKIP Unicast cyphers: tkip
Update Period: 3600 group cyphers: tkip
WPA Pre-Shared key XXXXXXXX
Group key update 01:00:00
Management protection: allowed
The passkeys are the same copy and past ensured this, please help!
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:48 am

Sorry format above is not great
My AP settings are: SSID: XXXX
Security Mode: WPA-PSK
Version: WPA
Encryption: TKIP
Update Period: 3600


My Station Settings SSID: XXXX
Mode: Dynamic Keys
Authentication Types WPA PSK
Unicast cyphers: tkip
group cyphers: tkip
WPA Pre-Shared key XXXXXXXX
Group key update 01:00:00
Management protection: allowed
The passkeys are the same copy and past ensured this, please help!
 
Roosk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: mikrotik rb911-5hnd client

Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:03 pm

Ok so I have finally, got a step further, I needed to set my SSID in Wireless>Connect list>wlan1-gateway>station connect rule,
I now have good internet(10--17mbs) on my pc with wireless security on AP and station.

So then I disconnected Lan from my pc and put it into my belkin router to provide internet to a number of devices, but now while I still have internet I am barely getting 0.30mbs in a speed test, I'm hoping this is just a setting in my Mikrotik station or my belkin router, any ideas please.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests