Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
digitalvalley
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 3:58 am

How to configure Load balancing in rb2011 il-rm

Wed May 30, 2018 4:04 am

I have tried to follow the official documentation and configure my rb2011 il-rm but it does‘nt work.
Would someone help me and assist me to make load balancing into this appliance to have this result .. WAN1 (200Mbps) + WAN2 (200Mbps) = OUT (400Mbps)
Nb: The configuration of rb2011 series that i found in internet does‘nt work in my rb2011 il-rm
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: How to configure Load balancing in rb2011 il-rm

Thu May 31, 2018 3:03 am

I have tried to follow the official documentation and configure my rb2011 il-rm but it does‘nt work.
Would someone help me and assist me to make load balancing into this appliance to have this result .. WAN1 (200Mbps) + WAN2 (200Mbps) = OUT (400Mbps)
Nb: The configuration of rb2011 series that i found in internet does‘nt work in my rb2011 il-rm

Check out this Wiki page about load balancing.
Just note that load balancing will not give you a speedtest of 400Mbps, the connections will get round robin'd out of each gateway under a load balancing scenario.
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3608
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: How to configure Load balancing in rb2011 il-rm

Thu May 31, 2018 5:38 pm

MangleRule, I cannot easily distinguish from the WIKI to do what I want to do.
a. WAN1 is 150/50 service
b. WAN2 is 100/30 service.

Thus i want to load balance but not equally for obvious reasons. In fact what i want to do is LB per ratio.
150/100 = 1.5 and 50/30 is 1.6 so I want to roughly for every 2 connections on WAN 1, then assign next 1 connection to WAN2, if that makes any sense.
(assuming a 1.5 ration is untenable then I bump it up to 2:1)

Which method of LB do I apply?
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: How to configure Load balancing in rb2011 il-rm

Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:45 am

I should have linked this video: Tomas Kirnak - Load Balancing / Mangle Deep Dive
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3608
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: How to configure Load balancing in rb2011 il-rm

Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:58 pm

Okay Mangle, I am trying to follow the presentation but I am running into some roadblocks.

First is that he uses static IP addresses for his ISP public IPs.
I think this scenario wont work for me due to I have dynamic ISP IPs.
Further he relies on address lists that use the public IP addresses

Right off the bat Im lost because My public IPs change.
So is there a right configuration you can point me towards......

It got to messy for me to configure, but I gave it a try.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anav, conquest, maigonis, mszru and 94 guests