Community discussions

MikroTik App

maxximilian
just joined
Topic Author

Access to LAN devices

Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi all, I recently got as a gift the Mikrotik HAP AC2 and I would like to ask for your help, since I’m fairly new to Mikrotik capabilities. (sorry if my terminology is not correct...)

I have a modem/router conected to the internet, which assigns ip addresses to devices from 192.168.1.2 an on...(this modem/router is located in room A). In room B I used to have a simple router (Netgear) to split access to three other devices (TV, computer, home theater), all of which got ip address 192.168.1.xxx. In room C I have a media player that got the ip address 192.168.1.xxx. Now the problem: I replaced the Netgear router in room B with the Mikrotik (which suited me, because I got it working as an AP (wireless internet in room B was terrible). Now the three devices (TV, computer, home theater) are all behind the Mikrotik, getting ip addresses 192.168.88.xxx and they are no longer accessible (especially the computer) either from the media player in room C nor from the Remote Desktop Access from a tablet connected to the modem/router wireless network (if I connect the tablet to the Mikrotik wireless network, then the Remote Desktop Access works - obviously, since it also gets an ip 192.168.88.xxx).

So the question is how to make things transparent again i.e. the media player (behind the modem/router LAN accessing the computer behind the Mikrotik LAN)?

Thank you in advance for any help!

Maxx

leoservices
Trainer
Trainer

Re: Access to LAN devices

Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:07 pm

Ideally, MikroTik will manage the whole network becoming the firewall of your network etc.

But a simple way to solve your current problem is:
create a bridge
/interface bridge add 
to disable the Mikrotik DHCP server

put interface from other Router on bridge1 and wlan1 on bridge1

Your "TV etc" devices will now receive IP 192.168.1.X being in the same broadcast domain.

maxximilian