Community discussions

MikroTik App

dontknow
just joined
Topic Author

DHCP settings for Access Point

Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:12 pm

Hi!
I'm almost total noob with networks. So I bought MikroTik and trying to learn. Searched for my question all over the network but somehow can't find actual thing that I should do. Maybe you can direct me to the information I need?

I have router without a wi-fi and a trendnet access point. I set up AP - give it IP in the range of my network, disable DHCP, make router gateway in settings and set up wi-fi settings.
Then I plug it into the router, it pings, I can get into interface from my PC inside the network.
But I don't know how to set up DHCP so it would work on the AP and give clients that try to access wi-fi their IP.
All ports on the router are bridged by default except the one with internet. Eth5, port with AP on it is now in slave mode. I tried to remove it from bridge and run new DHCP server on that point but it had no effect and I think I didn't set it up properly.

I'll appreciate any help.

Anumrak
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: DHCP settings for Access Point

Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:36 pm

Just bridge wlan1 and your ether port on Access Point. Then frames will flow through your AP to ether port on main router and dhcp server configured on ether port will respond dhcp messages.
Ether port on main router shouldn't be slave port.
IP address may be on ether port of AP or on bridge interface. As you like.

dontknow
just joined
Topic Author

Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:54 pm

Just bridge wlan1 and your ether port on Access Point. Then frames will flow through your AP to ether port on main router and dhcp server configured on ether port will respond dhcp messages.
Ether port on main router shouldn't be slave port.
IP address may be on ether port of AP or on bridge interface. As you like.