Community discussions

MikroTik App

willdashwood
just joined
Topic Author

Use other router for DHCP

Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:00 pm

Hello,

Apologies if this has been covered before but I can't find a post that covers my situation and I'm still a bit of a noob with RouterOS.

I have a CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN in my office which I want to use to provide wired connections to my PC, NAS, printer and deskphone as well as act as a wireless access point.

The MikroTik has had it's configuration reset back to default and port 1 is connected to my Virgin Media Superhub 3.0, which is in router mode, as opposed to modem mode. I need to keep it in router mode because there are other devices connected directly to it and I'd like to avoid buying a separate dumb switch just to accommodate those. That means the Superhub is acting as a DHCP server.

Surprisingly everything sort of works out of the box, except that the devices connected to the Superhub are assigned IPs IPs in the 192.168.0.0/24 range and those connect to the MikroTik are in the 192.168.88.0/24 range. This means they can't "see" each other. For example, my TV connected to the Superhub can't find my NAS which is connected to the MikroTik.

So what I think I'd like to do is...

1) Disable the DHCP service on the MikroTik and configure it to instead let the Superhub handle such requests.
2) Configure the MikroTik to operate in the same IP range (192.168.0.0/24) as the Superhub.

Although if I'm overthinking this and actually there's an easier way of allowing all devices to see each other that would be fine.

I'm using Winbox and I believe the following pages are the ones I need to play around with in order to achieve my goal:
winbox_2018-06-27_15-58-18.png
However, so far all my experiments in different settings have yielded no success and I have to do a configuration reset again. Would someone be kind enough to guide me though step by step what changes I need to make?

Many thanks,
Will