Community discussions

 
networkingguy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:20 pm

Google Fiber + Mikrotik hEX

Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:11 pm

Hello -

Equipment: hEX (RB750Gr3) w/ latest RC available

Kinda new to the Mikrotik ecosystem and I would like some help but also I would like this to serve as a thread that gets indexed by Google to shed some light the correct configs / best practice. There is a bunch of information on Google about how to set up a UBNT Edgerouter (X, Lite) but it would be nice to give advice to people looking for an alternative.

So here is the information that I have found from around the internet.

Steve Jenkins made some configs for the edgerouters here: https://github.com/stevejenkins/UBNT-Ed ... ogle-Fiber
I have tried the ER-X version and it seemed to work ok. I was seeing about 100Mb in speed drop off the download speeds but upload seemed fine.

Apparently: this is all that is needed to replace the Network box that Google Fiber provides:
  • Google Fiber wall jack in eth1:
    - Tagged VLAN 2
    - VLAN ( 802.1p = 3)
    - DHCP (802.1p = 6)
    - IGMP (802.1p = 2)
/interface vlan add interface=ether1 vlan-id=2 name="Google Fiber"
/ip dhcp-client add interface="Google Fiber" disabled=no
/ip firewall mangle add chain=forward out-interface="Google Fiber" action=set-priority new-priority=3 comment="Google Fiber IN"
This allowed me to get an IP and the hEX could use the tools built in to check for packages, traceroute, ping, etc.

The part that I started to struggle with was apparently getting the the internet accessible to the rest of the devices attached to the hEX.

Question: Can someone show me the commands to finish out this config correctly? I would like eth1 to have the Google Fiber in ( with ipv6 ) and then the rest of the ports to be bridged with DHCP enabled. I would be able to plug something in port 4 ( for example ) and that device would have internet accessibility . Assume the default configuration that you would have if you just reset the hEX.


Once we get a working set of instructions, I'll make a post / update this one with the latest information so others on this path can find the correct information. Often, I find myself and others being better at extrapolating off of working examples than heady discussions and theory.

If you have gotten this far, thank you for your time.

Resources:
http://itnutt.com/how-to-bypass-google- ... twork-box/
http://flyovercountry.org/2014/02/googl ... t-1-vlans/

Credit: Reddit users (reddedo / getfuture)
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Google Fiber + Mikrotik hEX

Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:18 pm

If you can acces the internet from the hEX then have a look at the following bit of info.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... _.28NAT.29

The WiKi is the manual for Mikrotik devices.

Addendum: vlan on a hEX has to be done in software and can't be applied to the port in hardware. So in the screen for the interface a few tabs to right.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... p_Features

Chip MT7621 first table.
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE and both do IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta59 / Winbox 3.20 / MikroTik APP 1.3.7
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases (no root required)
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: Google Fiber + Mikrotik hEX

Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:38 pm

Hello -

Equipment: hEX (RB750Gr3) w/ latest RC available
Keep in mind that the RC versions are development/test. They aren't stable - and you shouldn't use them on production systems. If you need the new features, the "current" is quite stable - and is the more recent one can sanely get. If you REALLY want something stable, use the "bugfix only" - it doesn't have all the new developments, but is rock solid.
 
squeeze
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Google Fiber + Mikrotik hEX

Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:46 pm

People are probably confused because with the default configuration, it should already just work.

The default configuration on SOHO devices is plug and play. There should be a single bridge containing ports 2-5. The bridge should have a dhcp server for 192.168.88.x. The firewall should forward all traffic by default. There should be a srcnat masquerade rule to allow outbound NATing and firewall traversal.

In other words, all you've done with those commands you've posted is configure how traffic is sent and received on the WAN. You have affected nothing else about the behavior of the router, especially forwarding too and from that WAN interface.

You should export your configuration with

/export hide-sensitive file=config

and post the content so we can see what's going on.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests