Page 1 of 1

How to configure for this setup?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:36 pm
by tom114
Hi all,

I have a very simple setup here and I'm looking for the best configuration possible. Unfortunately my knowledge of networking is very limited. My setup is as follows:
                                                     Mikrotik HAP
                          |------------------------------|--------------------------|
                          |                              |                          |
                     WLAN device                    WLAN device               LAN device
    
It should just be a simple wireless switch (I think), all the devices should just be able to communicate with each other freely. There is no internet connection and no need for DHCP, all devices are static. I tried the default HomeAP config with this setup but for some reason I wasn't able to ping between both WLAN devices with this setup, even with the firewall disabled.

Do you guys have any recommendations for the config?

Re: How to configure for this setup?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:36 am
by diddie17
I haven't tested the below code, but it is pretty simple, so should just work.

If you start with no config and build a simple bridge like this, giving it the correct ip address for the range you want to use -
/interface bridge
add name=bridge-wireless protocol-mode=none
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether5
/ip address
add address=192.168.0.10/24 interface=bridge-wireless network=\
    192.168.250.0
Then configure your WLAN settings (SSID & password etc.), enable the WLAN adapter if needed and add the WLAN adapter as a port to the bridge, then in theory, there's not much that can go wrong.

Re: How to configure for this setup?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:16 am
by dcwifi
Can you ping LAN device from WLAN device? or only WLAN device can't ping each other?

Please make sure the "Default Forward" is ticked under the wlan configuration.

Re: How to configure for this setup?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:54 pm
by mkx
I haven't tested the below code, but it is pretty simple, so should just work.
It won't work. At least two things are not correct:
  1. wireles interface should also be a member of "bridge-wireless" to make communication between wifi and wired client devices possible
  2. router's IP address and network are disjunct (IP address is not part used network). If IP address 192.168.0.10/24 is used, correct network is 192.168.0.0

Re: How to configure for this setup?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:14 pm
by tom114
Can you ping LAN device from WLAN device? or only WLAN device can't ping each other?

Please make sure the "Default Forward" is ticked under the wlan configuration.
Yes pinging LAN device to WLAN works perfectly, it only happens between WLAN devices. I'm also able to ping from the router to the wireless devices. The weird thing is that sometimes it is able to ping between WLAN devices. But this seems completely random...

My current config:
/interface bridge
add name=bridge-wireless protocol-mode=none
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=XXXXX wpa2-pre-shared-key=XXXXX
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods="" management-protection=allowed name=None supplicant-identity=""
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] disabled=no frequency=2442 mode=ap-bridge security-profile=None ssid=XXXX
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=wlan1
/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=WAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=ether5 list=LAN
add interface=wlan1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.10.1/24 interface=bridge-wireless network=192.168.10.0
/system routerboard settings
set silent-boot=no