Community discussions

 
roadkill1985
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:11 pm

Daisy Chain and configure 2 hap ac lite - home network

Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:37 pm

Hi there,

i have been searching through the forum for an answer to this but cannot find one.

is there a way to configure Port1 to recieve POE and act as a LAN port?

i have 2 hap ac lite routers
hap1 is my ISP router for fibre (using ether ports, wireless, queues for bandwidth control on ports)
hap2 i bought to use as switch, queues on ports for bandwidth control (i have 6 network cables to connect, including Fibre ONT, so using both routers)

i connected hap1 port 5 poe out TO hap2 port 1 poe in - ran quick setup and Home AP dual.
my pc is plugged into ether 2 and i cannot get internet, only if i plug in another cable from hap1 ether 3 to hap2 ether 3 for example
can i successfully ping gateway and internet but then i dont have enough ports to plug all my cables.

thanks in advance
 
diddie17
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:53 pm
Location: UK

Re: Daisy Chain and configure 2 hap ac lite - home network  [SOLVED]

Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:25 am

I haven't tested this, but if you are looking at just using it as a switch with DHCP etc. coming from your main router, then without any wireless config, it should be pretty simple.

I've taken a working config and ripped out everything but the base needed config. So, assuming you give it a management address of 192.168.0.10 and your gateway is on 192.168.0.1, then it should look something like this, starting with no config at all.
# jul/11/2018 17:33:16 by RouterOS 6.42.5
# software id = R2EG-0GVA
#
# model = RouterBOARD 952Ui-5ac2nD
/interface bridge
add name=bridge-wireless protocol-mode=none
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge-wireless interface=ether5
/ip address
add address=192.168.0.10/24 interface=bridge-wireless network=\
    192.168.0.0
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.0.1
If you wanted to use wireless on the second hAP, it's just a question of setting up the adapers and adding them to the bridge.
 
roadkill1985
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:11 pm

Re: Daisy Chain and configure 2 hap ac lite - home network

Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:20 am

Thanks diddie,

Will try out the code and see if it works,
I dont see why it wouldnt as i had a mikrotik cpe dish with 1 port which recieved data and poe
 
roadkill1985
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:11 pm

Re: Daisy Chain and configure 2 hap ac lite - home network

Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:52 am

thank you that worked! my second hap is basically acting as a slave/switch and is powered and connected via port 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests