Community discussions

 
User avatar
Chaosphere64
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:19 pm

RouterOS 6.41 new Bridge VLAN - what about Switch VLAN settings?

Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:05 pm

Hi,

just a short question: with the new Bridge VLAN implementation, what's the
/interface ethernet switch vlan
setting for? On CRS3xx devices I learned from a MikroTik YT video, I have to configure VLANs on the bridge. But on CRS 1xx/2xx devices it is done on the Switch? Not on the Bridge?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEE_dszZGLc#t=24m00s

What about smaller Routerboard devices with a dedicated switch chip (like my Hex Poe)?

Would be great if someone could clear up my confusion.

Thanks!
 
diddie17
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:53 pm
Location: UK

Re: RouterOS 6.41 new Bridge VLAN - what about Switch VLAN settings?

Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:03 am

This Wiki page probably covers it better than I could https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... p_Features

The key is that of the CRS series only the CRS3XX supports Bridge VLAN filtering whilst maintaining HW offload. In other words, if you configure anything other than a CRS3XX with Bridge VLAN filtering it will be done by the CPU, sacrificing wirespeed switching and increasing CPU load.

This is why CRS3XX are configured on the bridge and CRS1XX & 2XX are configured on the switch chip.

Based on the table on the Wiki page, depending on which Hex you have, it could have either a MT7621, Atheros 8227 or QCA 8337 chip set. None of which support Bridge VLAN filtering whilst maintaining HW offload. In other words, if you want/care about maximum performance you will want to configure VLAN's on the switch chip.
 
User avatar
Chaosphere64
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:19 pm

Re: RouterOS 6.41 new Bridge VLAN - what about Switch VLAN settings?

Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:28 pm

My hEX PoE has a QCA8337 chip, so I know what to do now.

Thanks for clearing things up ...

Have a nice weekend!
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: RouterOS 6.41 new Bridge VLAN - what about Switch VLAN settings?

Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:02 pm

My hEX PoE has a QCA8337 chip, so I know what to do now.

Thanks for clearing things up ...

Have a nice weekend!


qca8337 supports hw vlans, configure it on switch menu

try this

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=119383

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests