Community discussions

 
aditya1118
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:56 pm

Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:23 am

Hello,

I have CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ and CCR-1036 and connect using 10G sfp + modules and fiber connection, when I see bandwidth test results 1836Meg /2.4 Gig UDP and 252.5/253.3 Megs TCP.
Now I created vlans and I got 277.8/282.4 Megs TCP and 2.0/2.1 Gig UDP. I was expecting at least 5 gig on fiber and I am using Multi mode modules.

I thought those fiberstore modules was the issue and I have this same issue with Mikrotik S+RJ10 connecting through CAT6A. I need some help to figure out and solve this issue.

Thank you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Bandwidth test tool is useless for SFP+. won't reach more than 2Gb ever.

Use iperf and two PCs...
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
aditya1118
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:38 pm

We found our simple queue is affecting our ports and also I enabled fastrack to get full throughput. But if i enable fastract our queue tree wouldn't work. I need to find a way to make this work.
Thank you guys.
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:45 pm

We found our simple queue is affecting our ports and also I enabled fastrack to get full throughput. But if i enable fastract our queue tree wouldn't work. I need to find a way to make this work.
Thank you guys.
To get 10G with CCR1009 without fasttrack you need jumbo 9k. And single connection will still bottleneck at 4.5 gbps. With something like 4-6 concurrent connection it will reach full 10G tho because then cores will be better utilized.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=138626&p=683611&hil ... ce#p683611

check this thread. Global Queue tree doesn't work with fasttrack, nor do Simple Qieues. However according to this:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Fasttrack
Queue Tree should work with fasttrack if it's parented to interface. Performance charts of MikroTik devices on website are given with fasttrack enabled. You need to assume around 6-8x performance drop when you can't use fasttrack. So considering CCR1009 is reported to route 15gbps then 15/8 ~= 2.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
aditya1118
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:21 am

We found out our Firewall rules drop 2.2 gigs of traffic, Mangle rules drop ~1.4 gig's of traffic, The way we use mangles are for Connection Marking, Mark packet for our queue tree.
This happens when I generate 9.7gig's of traffic through traffic generator and it drops ~3.6 gig's of traffic with heavy packet loss on both TCP/UDP RX.
When I generate traffic of 7.9 or 8. CCR 1036 is able to handle firewall inspection, mangles and throughput's on Both TCP/UDP are 7.9 on Tx/Rx.
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Mikrotik SPF + unable to get full bandwidth

Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:52 pm

Sounds reasonable. Please note that when packets are dropped there are more retransmissions and stuff so you may get better throughput if router can keep up than in situation where you exceed router capabilities and packets start to drop heavily.

Did you try to enable fasttrack with Queue Tree rules parented to interfaces? Does it work?
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests