Community discussions

 
miyago
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:12 pm
Location: Sweden

Understanding Default config: bridge

Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:43 pm

Hello

I'm going through the mikrotik default config of my RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT hAP ac to understand it all.

My question was about bridge configuration. It's my understanding bridge is used to devide networks into segments.

Looking at the config it seems one bridge is created, not to divide but in order to communicate through mac-addresses, is that correct?

If I remove the bridge would devices need to communicate through IP addresses or could they not communicate at all?
# aug/15/2018 15:28:48 by RouterOS 6.43rc51
# 
#
# model = RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT
# 
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1-WAN
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] name=ether4-NAS
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=sweden disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=Mikrotik1 wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee country=sweden disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=Mikrotik2 wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=XXXXX wpa2-pre-shared-key=XXXXX
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4-NAS
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1-WAN list=WAN
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: Understanding Default config: bridge

Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:47 pm

The bridge does what it says. It bridges multiple ports/interfaces together. It's pretty much a "software switch".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bridging_(networking)

In this instance it will take all interfaces (except the first one) and make them act as a switch so all of them can communicate with each other.
 
miyago
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:12 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Understanding Default config: bridge

Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Thank you, so without it there can be no comunication?
 
User avatar
bramwittendorp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:48 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Understanding Default config: bridge

Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:27 pm

You can certainly use a MikroTik device without a bridge, but for SoHo-use you'll probably be better of with a bridge.

Without a bridge the router will be in routed mode, in that case every interface of the router needs it's own ip-address and when devices are trying to reach other network segments they will be routed by the MikroTik.

So, yes communication is possible with a bridge but for a device like a hAP ac it's a good idea to use it with a bridge, as this will give similar behavior as most SoHo-routers.
Bram - MikroTik enthusiast - MTCNA / MTCRE / MTCWE / MTCIPv6E
Don't be shy, share your /export hide-sensitive and make sure to read this.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Understanding Default config: bridge

Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:36 pm

It depends on what you are doing. I am not using a bridge on any of my routers. However, I am using my routers exclusively as routers. Each port is either a separate LAN or a trunk port with multiple VLANs. Everything is routed in between ports. Each port is connected to a different port of a managed switch that handles switch functions.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests