Page 1 of 1

Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:47 pm
by MicrotikUser
The original plan for my recently acquired MicroTik router was to act as a Firewall. My idea was Modem ==> Microtik ==> Internal Router. The Microtik can access the internet, but when i connect my Cisco M20 to the Microtik, i get no internet on the M20. As an added complication the M20 is a client on the Microtik, it just cant reach the WAN. Anyone have any ideas to make this possible. Oh and the M20 is running DD-WRT.

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:36 pm
by proximus
Does the M20 have the appropriate default route pointing to the MT?
Is the problem with IP subnets on the M20 not getting out? If so, then does the MT have routes for these subnets pointing back to the M20?

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:44 pm
by MicrotikUser
Does the M20 have the appropriate default route pointing to the MT?
Is the problem with IP subnets on the M20 not getting out? If so, then does the MT have routes for these subnets pointing back to the M20?
I haven't tried any of this, the furthest i got was plugging the M20 into the MicroTik, should i try to create a subnet just for the M20. And if so how would i do that.

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:03 pm
by proximus
The M20 running DD-WRT .... do you want that to be a wireless access point only? Then I suspect DD-WRT has an option to place it in Bridge Mode. Then give it a static IP address / gateway / DNS ... and you are done.

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:10 pm
by MicrotikUser
The M20 running DD-WRT .... do you want that to be a wireless access point only? Then I suspect DD-WRT has an option to place it in Bridge Mode. Then give it a static IP address / gateway / DNS ... and you are done.
No, i wanted the M20 to be its own independent router who's WAN is the Microtiks LAN. The only problem is that the M20 will no consider the Microtiks LAN a WAN. To clarify i want the M20 to seem like a normal computer siting on the LAN, when its actually a router

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:39 pm
by mkx
First of all make sure that mikrotik's LAN IP subnet (M20's WAN) does not overlap M20's LAN IP subnet. E.g. if your LAN has IP subnet 192.168.88.0/24, then Mikrotik's LAN should have something else, such as 192.168.188.0/24.
Secondly, beware of the method of connecting to internet through Modem. If it's not simple "obtain WAN address using DHCP client" (e.g. it is PPPoE), then you'll have to reconfigure M20 ... it should configure its WAN interface by "obtain WAN address using DHCP client" ... and make sure Mikrotik is set to correct method of configuring its WAN (it should be the same as at M20 when Mikrotik is not between M20 and modem).

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 12:00 am
by MicrotikUser
First of all make sure that mikrotik's LAN IP subnet (M20's WAN) does not overlap M20's LAN IP subnet. E.g. if your LAN has IP subnet 192.168.88.0/24, then Mikrotik's LAN should have something else, such as 192.168.188.0/24.
Secondly, beware of the method of connecting to internet through Modem. If it's not simple "obtain WAN address using DHCP client" (e.g. it is PPPoE), then you'll have to reconfigure M20 ... it should configure its WAN interface by "obtain WAN address using DHCP client" ... and make sure Mikrotik is set to correct method of configuring its WAN (it should be the same as at M20 when Mikrotik is not between M20 and modem).
yea the the M20's LAN subnet is 192.168.1.X and the microtik is 192.168.88.X. the microtik is setup to be a DHCP server, but the M20 does not say that the LAN IP given to the M20 is a WAN IP. it just says 0.0.0.0.

Re: Slightly Unrelated Problem  [SOLVED]

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:10 am
by mkx
the microtik is setup to be a DHCP server, but the M20 does not say that the LAN IP given to the M20 is a WAN IP. it just says 0.0.0.0.
There's your problem. Check configuration on M20 and verify it can receive IP address via DHCP from mikrotik.