Community discussions

 
KennyPowers
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:18 pm

RBSXTR VLAN

Mon Aug 27, 2018 12:55 am

Hello All,

I have configured my RBSXTR with LTE Passthrough as per the wiki. My main router is RB3011. Could anyone explain how to set up a management vlan between the two as per below taken form the wiki I am using ether1 on both devices.

It is suggested to create additional connection from the LTE router to the host for configuration purposes. For example vlan interface between the LTE router and host.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... gh_Example

Thanks
 
lukah
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: RBSXTR VLAN

Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:47 am

Hi!

I would like to know exactly the same thing. The wiki is a little vague for not so experienced users.
If someone would share a configuration with us it would be greatly appreciated.
 
KennyPowers
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: RBSXTR VLAN

Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:31 pm

Still trying to figure this out, should the LTE interface passtrough to a vlan interface also?

In the mean time I've set up RoMon on both devices which allows me access for anyone else stuck with the vlan like myself.
 
KennyPowers
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: RBSXTR VLAN

Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:53 am

Anyone any ideas?
 
KennyPowers
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: RBSXTR VLAN

Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:53 pm

To answer my own question

Its a good idea to set up RoMON before starting.

<Solution>
SXTLTE
Configure 2 VLANs on ether 1 (vlanLTE - 100, vlanMGT - 99)
Assign vlanMGT an IP address something from the main router subnet.
Switch menu add VLAN 100 to ether1 and CPU (Not sure if CPU is necessary) and do the same for VLAN 99
Switch menu Port ether1 - VLAN Mode Secure, Leave as is, Default VLAN ID 99
Set LTE APN to Passthrough vlanLTE
Interface list add vlanLTE to WAN
IP Routes - add your Gateway here

MAIN ROUTER
Configure 2 VLANs on ether 1 (vlanLTE - 100, vlanMGT - 99)
Switch menu add VLAN 100 to ether1 and CPU (Not sure if CPU is necessary) and do the same for VLAN 99
Switch menu Port ether1 - VLAN Mode Secure, Leave as is, Default VLAN ID 99
Interface list add vlanLTE to WAN
Add vlanMGT to Bridge

This works for me I can reach SXTLTE from the IP address. any suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests