Community discussions

 
Krisbe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

CRS317 in HA environment

Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:28 pm

Hi

I would like to create a network like this. Is the part with LAGG and LACP possible with the CRS317-1G-16S+RM (I don't think this one is stackable?)?
If not, what is a possible solution?

Image

Thanks
 
Krisbe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:53 pm

Hi

Something went wrong with the image. Here is the good one:


Image
 
Dude2048
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Mon Nov 05, 2018 5:28 pm

Hypervisor as in a virtual port channel or a hot standby?
 
Krisbe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:01 pm

I don't understand you well, Dude2048. The hypervisors are bonded via LACP (802.3ad). Or an active-passive setup is also possible.

The problem is the redundancy across the switches. Normally I would stack the two switches and make a LACP LAG group with one port on each switch. Or I would need something like Multi-Chassis Trunking.
What is the best solution to create this redundancy with CR317's?
 
Dude2048
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:43 pm

Stacking switches is not supported. You can’t bond it like you want with lacp. Maybe something with vrrp.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:55 am

I don't care about stacking, but MC-LAG would be great.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
Krisbe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:44 am

VRRP isn't a real option for this scenario I think. I need the 10G switching capacity, not routing.
MC-LAG would indeed be a great addition.

But for now, what would be my best option in this situation?
Is it a option to bond two server ports in Active-Passive and connect each server port with a switch port on each switch? Should I then also create a Trunk between the two switches?
Maybe other ideas?
 
panosla
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 6:47 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:10 am

Haven't tried this before with a hypervisor, but you could probably:
  • Bridge the two 10G interfaces of the hypervisor
  • Configure RSTP
This way you would have redundancy, but no throughput aggregation.
The same applies for firewalls.
 
Krisbe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:30 am

The main goal of the setup is redundancy, not throughput.
And bridging the hypervisor in Active-Backup, you mean? With a Trunk between the two switches because the hypervisors have to talk to each other, also when one link of a hypervisor is down?
 
panosla
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 6:47 pm

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:09 pm

No i meant something like that https://support.sonus.net/display/DSCDO ... Mware+ESXi
All hypervisors i know of have built in redundancy capabilities.
HyperV has dynamic teaming.
 
ingtegration
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:52 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec , CANADA
Contact:

Re: CRS317 in HA environment

Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:18 am

I came here searching for exactly the same need and the same hardware! I read that you can achieve redundancy and traffic aggregation using bonding mode 6 (Balance ALB)

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... modes.html

This setup is said to work with two "dumb switches". What is unclear for me is the behavior when one switch or link fails: Timeout / recovery of active IP session, does the switches have to be linked together or not, etc. Every websites that i found on this topic didn't provide enough behavior details nor practical examples...

My use case if for a GlusterFS cluster storing KVM Virtual Machines images. Does anybody came up with a working setup? If not, i'll configure a test bench for this in my lab.
Guy Boisvert, ing.
MTCRE
IngTegration inc. - Montréal, Canada
http://www.ingtegration.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests