Page 1 of 1

SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:52 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hello all.

I need some help regarding the use of this switch.

Actually i've onr rBm11G connected to Dlink router and soon with an AC also.

As the Dlink is not woring fine i would like to replace it with a new router...or switch...

The RB 260 GSP have 4 POE Passive ports which i like as i could power on the RBM11G and the AC as well..

But...what happet when i connect on it a standard device..? i've a NAS..a printer server..one workstation ..

Those devices do not support Passive POe..i'm at risk to damage it? is it possilble to disable the POE on some ports?

Another question...switch or router ?

Thanks a lot.

maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:28 pm
by xvo
When set to "auto" the switch will perform a check whether device supports PoE or not, and It will apply current only to ports where the devices need that.
And if you want, you can always set PoE-mode to off for ports that don't need it.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:PoE-Out#SwOS

Router or switch depends only on what is intended use for the device :)
If you already use RBm11G as a router, and the only thing you need are additional ports for you LAN, then switch will be enough.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:31 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hi.

Thanks for your reply.

i'm sorry for my really basic questions...but i'm a really beginner :)

as i've a Rb411l with a wireless card to be used as AP...this can be connected to the switch as well right?

Can the RB 411l upgraded to the last routeros version?

thanks in advance.

Maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:44 pm
by xvo
as i've a Rb411l with a wireless card to be used as AP...this can be connected to the switch as well right?

Can the RB 411l upgraded to the last routeros version?
You can connect it to the switch and you can upgrade it to the latest version, but you can't use it as AP (unless you have bought a separate Level 4 license) - it has a level 3 license limiting it to be used only in Point-to-Point wireless bridge or as CPE (client in Point-to-MultiPoint setup).

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:22 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hello..

Oops..this is new to me.

is it possibile to buy the level 4 licence and upgrade it..?

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:32 pm
by xvo
Hello..

Oops..this is new to me.

is it possibile to buy the level 4 licence and upgrade it..?
You can purchase it (https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:L ... nse_Levels).
But there's really no point to do so in your case.
There are plenty of newer devices, more powerful than RB 411l, that cost less or about the same as the licence alone:
https://mikrotik.com/products/group/wir ... and-office

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:50 pm
by xvo
You can even eliminate the need to buy a 56$ 260GSP and buy a device that will serve as switch, AP and will provide power to RBm11G.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:55 pm
by MGiannandrea
do you know if any MiniPCie dual and modem exist to be used with routerboard?

i've one SXT LTE without modem...eventually i could buy a modem to use it like AP..

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:00 pm
by MGiannandrea
any switch working like that to suggest to me for home applications?

Thanks a lot.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:55 pm
by xvo
do you know if any MiniPCie dual and modem exist to be used with routerboard?

i've one SXT LTE without modem...eventually i could buy a modem to use it like AP..
Unfortunately I don't have much knowledge about MiniPCie modems/wireless cards.

I thought you were going to use RBm11G with the modem?
If you can get RBm33G instead - it has two MiniPCIe slots, so you can you use it to be 3 devices in one:
1) 4G Modem
2) One wireless radio
3) 3-port ethernet switch.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:56 pm
by xvo
any switch working like that to suggest to me for home applications?

Thanks a lot.
I think any switch will do ok, but my point was to eliminate the need of additional switch at all, combing it's functionality with AP.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:47 pm
by MGiannandrea
hello.

I can't use the RBM33 like this just because the routerboard is installed on the pole to make the antennas cables as short as possible.

I need to have one router..or switch with dediated AP to be used inside my home.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:09 pm
by xvo
hello.

I can't use the RBM33 like this just because the routerboard is installed on the pole to make the antennas cables as short as possible.

I need to have one router..or switch with dediated AP to be used inside my home.
I see...
But you can still combine switch + AP in one device, or perhaps even router + switch + AP (and use RBm11G only for lte passthrough).
For example hAP ac2 (though it doesn't have poe-out, so you will need poe-injector for RBm11G).

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:26 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hello.

Yes..i was looking to it or any RB 951.

But what about wireless coverage?

Using a CAP AC for example, will help me to have a better wireless coverage inside the house?

I know is more complicated but maybe those AP have a better and bigger antenna inside.

What do you think.? Does it make sense instead a unique device?

Thanks again.

Maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:49 pm
by xvo
Hello.

Yes..i was looking to it or any RB 951.

But what about wireless coverage?

Using a CAP AC for example, will help me to have a better wireless coverage inside the house?

I know is more complicated but maybe those AP have a better and bigger antenna inside.

What do you think.? Does it make sense instead a unique device?

Thanks again.

Maurizio
This makes perfect sense (however it will cost more):
1) RBm11G = as LTE Modem + Router
2) cAP AC = as AP
3) RB260GSP = as switch + power to the both above.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:18 pm
by MGiannandrea
Thanks a lot..!!!

Ang greetings from Italy

Maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:38 pm
by xvo
Thanks a lot..!!!

Ang greetings from Italy

Maurizio
You are welcome! :)

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:17 pm
by xvo
Thanks a lot..!!!

Ang greetings from Italy

Maurizio
Hi again.

It turns out, I might need a little advice from you too, if you don't mind:
Can you suggest me any mobile carrier in Italy, with unlimited LTE traffic plan, that won't cost me a fortune? :)
I might end up having to install a setup very similar to yours in northern Italy next spring, and need to chose a service provider.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:00 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hello.

Well you'll not find any unlimited from our major carriers (vodafone..tim..TRE/ Wind).
But there are some company which are selling internet service using our carriers nets.

For unlimited service :

OGilink - Works with Vodafone..but is quite expensive. 69 for unlimited - or..39 Euros to have 400 Gb every month.

Icaro Mobile. - Very good price. 29 Euros for unlimited packet but is working with Wind Operator. So depends of the coverage area you'll find over there.

All the others..

EVO 24...Smartweb24 offer usually data packets of 400 Gb every two months..price around 30 euros.

I hope this will help you.

I got very good results using RBM11g and R11e LTE with two external antennas from ISKRA,

What a pity we cannot use other modems Like SIERRA MC 7455 ( CAT 6 - CA ) to get better results.

I did some test with the RMB11G with Open WRT FW and the Sierra MC 7455..not too bad..but soffering some disconnection during the use.

I hope that Routeros 7 will open the doors to other modem devices also.

Have a nice day.

Maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:40 pm
by xvo
Hello.

Well you'll not find any unlimited from our major carriers (vodafone..tim..TRE/ Wind).
But there are some company which are selling internet service using our carriers nets.

For unlimited service :

OGilink - Works with Vodafone..but is quite expensive. 69 for unlimited - or..39 Euros to have 400 Gb every month.

Icaro Mobile. - Very good price. 29 Euros for unlimited packet but is working with Wind Operator. So depends of the coverage area you'll find over there.

All the others..

EVO 24...Smartweb24 offer usually data packets of 400 Gb every two months..price around 30 euros.

I hope this will help you.
Wow!
That's a great help, actually.
I think even 400GB for under 40 Euro/month will be good enough.
I will look into all the options you mentioned.
Thanks a lot!

I got very good results using RBM11g and R11e LTE with two external antennas from ISKRA,

What a pity we cannot use other modems Like SIERRA MC 7455 ( CAT 6 - CA ) to get better results.

I did some test with the RMB11G with Open WRT FW and the Sierra MC 7455..not too bad..but soffering some disconnection during the use.

I hope that Routeros 7 will open the doors to other modem devices also.
Yeah, Sierra mc7455 is very interesting, especially it's ability to monitor two networks simultaneously (not for this setup, but to use in all kinds of vehicles, for example).
It's really a shame we have no support for it in current ROS.

Have a nice day.

Maurizio
Thanks again!
And have a nice day too :)

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:12 pm
by MGiannandrea
Let's see when OS 7 will arrive...

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:09 am
by LSan83
Hello.

Well you'll not find any unlimited from our major carriers (vodafone..tim..TRE/ Wind).
But there are some company which are selling internet service using our carriers nets.
It's not true! Only TIM don't have unlimited data plan.

Vodafone have Unlimited Red +
WindTre have 3Unlimited

Both the plans have unlimited GB on major carrier apn at about 35-40€/month. Don't subscribe Icaro mobile... His APN is saturated at the evening and you don't go over 2-3 Mbits for the download.
I'm using 3Unlimited since the last may with an WAP LTE kit as my main connection. In download i never go under 20 Mbits.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:37 am
by xvo
Hello.

Well you'll not find any unlimited from our major carriers (vodafone..tim..TRE/ Wind).
But there are some company which are selling internet service using our carriers nets.
It's not true! Only TIM don't have unlimited data plan.

Vodafone have Unlimited Red +
WindTre have 3Unlimited

Both the plans have unlimited GB on major carrier apn at about 35-40€/month. Don't subscribe Icaro mobile... His APN is saturated at the evening and you don't go over 2-3 Mbits for the download.
I'm using 3Unlimited since the last may with an WAP LTE kit as my main connection. In download i never go under 20 Mbits.
Thanks for the info, but Unlimited Red+ seems to be smartphone only, and I have no luck to find any info on 3Unlimited.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:46 pm
by LSan83
Thanks for the info, but Unlimited Red+ seems to be smartphone only, and I have no luck to find any info on 3Unlimited.
For Italian law, you can use the GB of any mobile plan as you want. You can use sim for smartphone for tethering and modem without problems.

https://www.ilsole24ore.com/art/tecnolo ... fresh_ce=1

https://www.agcom.it/documentazione/doc ... e=document


3Unlimited is a bonus plan for smartphones sim when you bind them with a ADSL/FTTC/FTTH contract. You can activate 3Unlimited on 3 sims for every fixed line you have.
20€ for 3adsl/3fibra and 5€ for all-in master with 3Unlimited. With 25€ you have a sim with Unlimited GB in LTE for your modem and a fixed line (at my home the adsl works at only 2 Mbits and i use as my main connection the sim with 3Unlimited in a wap lte).

https://www.tre.it/promozioni/voce-inte ... -unlimited
https://www.infostrada.it/offerta3/superfibra/

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:29 am
by xvo
Thanks for the info, but Unlimited Red+ seems to be smartphone only, and I have no luck to find any info on 3Unlimited.
For Italian law, you can use the GB of any mobile plan as you want. You can use sim for smartphone for tethering and modem without problems.

https://www.ilsole24ore.com/art/tecnolo ... fresh_ce=1

https://www.agcom.it/documentazione/doc ... e=document


3Unlimited is a bonus plan for smartphones sim when you bind them with a ADSL/FTTC/FTTH contract. You can activate 3Unlimited on 3 sims for every fixed line you have.
20€ for 3adsl/3fibra and 5€ for all-in master with 3Unlimited. With 25€ you have a sim with Unlimited GB in LTE for your modem and a fixed line (at my home the adsl works at only 2 Mbits and i use as my main connection the sim with 3Unlimited in a wap lte).

https://www.tre.it/promozioni/voce-inte ... -unlimited
https://www.infostrada.it/offerta3/superfibra/
Thanks for clarifications!

Unfortunately 3unlimited doesn't look like an option to me - the reason I started looking for LTE solution in the first place is that having a fixed line seems to be a problem.

However, the overall picture looks promising: several service providers to consider and the prices are reasonable.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:00 pm
by MGiannandrea
Hello.

Well i've the same problem here.

No ADSL or Fiber...that's why i'm using LTE connection.

So...3Unlimited and Vodafone Red+ must have linked to a landline contract?

Thanks in advance.

Maurizio

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:48 pm
by xvo
Hello.

Well i've the same problem here.

No ADSL or Fiber...that's why i'm using LTE connection.

So...3Unlimited and Vodafone Red+ must have linked to a landline contract?

Thanks in advance.

Maurizio
True for 3Unlimited, but haven't seen such limitation for Red+, only that it is obligatory to stay on the plan for some time/money.
Or am I missing something?

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:13 am
by MGiannandrea
Hello.
Yesterday i bought the Vodafone Red + sim.

The only limitation is related to the time contract ..at least one year. Of course is possibile to close it before paying 49 euro fees.

Compared with my plan Smartweb24 is better but i expected a big difference.

My actual Smartweb24 (vodafone )contract is unlimited but the bad is blocked at 10M Down and 1 M Up.

With the Red Plus i arrived sometimes at 20..but not always.

Actually i'm using the mobile.vodafone.it apn..i will try the web.omnitel.it dedicated to the thetering/hotspot..maybe will run faster.

Lsan83..what go you think about..does will help to increase bandwith?.

As second option i will flash the RBM11G with goldenorb again in order to use the sierra mc 7455. Maybe the CA will help me to get some more bandwith.

Have agood day

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:26 pm
by anav
I'm still stuck on Northern Italy and am drooling at the thought of amazing pasta and savoury vino rojo!!

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:13 pm
by mkx
I'm still stuck on Northern Italy and am drooling at the thought of amazing pasta and savoury vino rojo!!
Seems your personality is split between Italy and Spain. In Italy, it's vino rosso.

Re: SWITCH 260GSP

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:45 pm
by anav
Si Si, Yo no hablo mussolini ( I donta speaka italiano! )
But I would be sick everyday from eating the finest queso, exquisite pastas and drinking full bodied vino and cold frothy cervezas all day/night long.