Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Hoov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:08 am
Location: NE Michigan

Winbox and RoMON

Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:30 pm

I have an RB912 UAG that I cannot login to directly using Winbox but if I log into a Mikrotik device on either side of it thru RoMON, then I can get into it using Winbox thru RoMON. Can anyone tell me why I can't just go thru Winbox to begin with?
 
User avatar
MangleRule
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 1:05 am

Re: Winbox and RoMON

Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:27 pm

If you are trying to login using an IP address, there is a firewall rule or something blocking your access if it doesn't respond. RoMON is independent of layer 2 and layer 3 configuration which is why you can login with RoMON.
MTCNAMTCREMTCINE | MTCTCE | MTCUME | UBWA
 
Hoov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:08 am
Location: NE Michigan

Re: Winbox and RoMON

Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:53 pm

No firewall rules, but I just found out I can also get into it directly using webfig. When I click on the winbox icon on the login page, I get an error. Normally this starts a download of Winbox.
I know its a configuration issue somewhere, but I have to be looking right over it.

Thanks for the response.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], vjs and 42 guests