Community discussions

MikroTik App

Maelstrom
just joined
Topic Author

Setting up a dedicated Management Port

Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:42 am

Hi,

I'm very new to Mikrotik. I just bought a RB3011 few weeks ago, to replace my ISP Box (more for fun than for a real need ;-), but for the moment, it's all but fun...)

Before configuring anything else, the first thing I want to do, is to have a dedicated management ethernet port on my router (let's say ether3 port), with the fixed IP 192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.0/24 is my management subnet on my LAN. It's on the "natave" VLAN). I don't want it to be possible to access the management tools on the router from other ports / subnet, either from winbox or by ssh.

Here are the steps of my different tries :
- i removed ether3 from the defaut bridge (on RB3011, ether2 to ether10 + sfp1 are bridged in the default configuration).
- I added the 192.168.1.2/24 IP address on ether3
- I forced my PC IP address to be 192.168.1.200 (mask 255.255.255.0 / gateway 192.168.1.2 just in case) and plugged it in ether3 port of the router => Can't connect either from WinBox and by ssh
- then, I forced the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet as source address on the Winbox service => no success. And, of course, from that step, I could not connect anymore on ether2 (with host IP set to 192.168.88.x). Fortunatly, connecting by MAC address still worked on ether2, so I have added 192.168.88.0/24 as source address on the Winbox service.
- I tried to put ether3 in a new bridge, just in case => no success
- I tried to add a firewall rule (chain : input / src:192.168.1.0/24 / Action : accept) at the very beginning of the rules => no success
- And other tries I don't remember of... => No success

What the hell is wrong with my actions ? Can someone here help me ?