Community discussions

 
timskemp
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:54 pm

Ethernet port numbers when changing hardware

Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:37 pm

I've just swapped out a 2011 for a 4011, and restored a backup of the config to the new router.

The ethernet port numbers don't match the front panel after the restore - is this normal behaviour? (for example what is showing now as Ethernet1 in the software is port 4 on the router)
 
nescafe2002
Member
Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Ethernet port numbers when changing hardware

Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:58 pm

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... escription

The configuration backup can be used for backing up MikroTik RouterOS configuration to a binary file, which can be stored on the router or downloaded from it using FTP for future use. The configuration restore can be used for restoring the router's configuration, exactly as it was at the backup creation moment, from a backup file. The restoration procedure assumes the cofiguration is restored on the same router, where the backup file was originally created, so it will create partially broken configuration if the hardware has been changed.

Yes, this is expected behavior. Use config export/import instead.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests