Community discussions

MikroTik App

ntech2
just joined
Topic Author

Noob firewall question - being brute forced

Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:22 pm

Hi,
I'm very new to routers and networking so sorry if this is trivial, but I can't figure it out.

We have a router running RouterOS v6.43.4.

There's a Windows server running RDP on the network, RDP is open to internet connections currently. On server log files I can see brute force logon attempts every second from foreign IP addresses.

To fix this I think I need to configure the firewall on the router.

Here is current firewall settings: https://i.imgur.com/xqyGAoE.png
The router should only allow 3 specific internet IPs and all local IPs from subnet 192.168.88.0/24 to connect to RDP. Block everything else.
What do I need to change to achieve this?

Thanks!

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Noob firewall question - being brute forced

Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:35 pm

Well I would suggest using a service that blocks a lot of foreign crap from the getgo.
One of our fellow members has one that he protects his clients with and includes country blocking for example as but one of the prongs of defence.
Check it out......... (for the price of couple of cups of java a month its the best value you will find anywhere in IT)
viewtopic.php?t=137632

In the meantime,
In terms of port forwarding, I would imagine limited access from known external IPs to your Windows Server, should be doable.

Of course in your IP Firewall Filter Forward Chain you will need a rule to allow dstnat and assume you already have this.
add action=accept chain=forward comment="Allow Port Forwarding" connection-nat-state=dstnat

In your port forwarding rules which are found in IP Firewall NAT, be sure to apply source address to limit access to the server!

example A -single authorized external address, single WAN
add chain=dstnat action=dst-nat source-address=ALLOWED_EXTERNAL_INTERNET_IP protocol=rdp
in-interface=wan to-addresses=IP_of_local_windows_server to-ports=3389