Community discussions

 
DerekRB
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 am

Can't login to newly configured router

Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:54 am

I just setup a new SXTsq Lite2 as a bridge on my home network. It is up and running but now I can't login to the router. I can see the IP, and ping it but the browser just times out. Winbox sees the router IP and MAC but cannot connect to either - just says it cannot connect. I have reset the router back to default a couple of times but somewhere during the config process I can no longer connect via the browser. The Winbox session remains up so the config process can be completed but once I end that session I am stuck again. Any ideas what is going wrong? Am I setting something that causes this? The router seems to function ok and I can access the equipment on the other side of the bridge although there is an issue that I haven't yet resolved in that a PC on the other side of the bridge can't access the internet but I can't see that this should affect logging into the router?
 
flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:06 am

Can you post the config you are running on it?

Could be something to do with the interface lists and winbox access set to the wlan
 
DerekRB
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:18 pm

I have attached the backup I made if this will help! Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:46 pm

Hi Derek,

Can you do a command export file=PTP-AC hide-sensitive in the terminal of the SXT
Open the file with notepad++ and copy paste contents here or attach the file.
 
DerekRB
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:50 pm

That doesn't work either. I can't connect via Telnet .... The router is working fine and I can see and ping it on the network.

C:\Users\Derek>telnet 192.168.8.253 23
Connecting To 192.168.8.253...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed

C:\Users\Derek>ping 192.168.8.253

Pinging 192.168.8.253 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.8.253: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.8.253: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.8.253: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.8.253: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.8.253:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms
 
flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:49 pm

Ok, what is it you are trying to do with the SXTsq Lite2?
Is it possible for you to reset the device and remove the default setup script.
I can assist you to setup the device without the help of quickset.
 
DerekRB
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:13 am

I use it to bridge my network between the house and the workshop. I have a TPLink access point running in client mode in the workshop. Whatever setup I did on the SXT works perfectly - I can access internet and the network devices from the workshop and I can access devices from the house. I used these instructions https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... figuration but since these contemplate a router with more than one ethernet port maybe I did something wrong that prevents me accessing the unit via IP or MAC.
On resetting the unit that is possible and it would be great to get help from someone who actually understands all these things! As mentioned it is working fine but I just don't like not being able to access the unit! We would just need to coordinate to do this at a time that suits you.
 
flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:52 pm

The SXT you are using is has a licensed 3 so the wireless will be set to "bridge" mode for one only one wireless device to connect which is the workshop device.
The script below has set the wireless security to workshopconnect so on the TP device in the work shop you will need to search for SSID PTP-Workshop-Bridge
and connect using the wireless security workshopconnect

You must reset the SXT to default and do not use the default configuration once you have reset the device.
So when you reset the SXT and log into the SXT, click remove default script and you might be kicked back out of the SXT.
Just connect back in using the MAC of the SXT.

Below is a script that you will have to paste into the terminal of the SXT device.
The script below assumes that the ethernet port of the SXT is named ether1 and wlan port is named wlan1.


/interface bridge
add name=WirelessLAN
/interface bridge port
add bridge=WirelessLAN interface=ether1
add bridge=WirelessLAN interface=wlan1
/ip dhcp-client add interface=ether1 disabled=no
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] frequency=auto band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-eC mode=bridge ssid="PTP-Workshop-Bridge" wireless-protocol=802.11 default security-profile=default
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=workshopconnect wpa2-pre-shared-key=workshopconnect
/tool romon
set enabled=yes


Hope this helps
 
DerekRB
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Can't login to newly configured router

Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:57 am

Thanks Flynno - I will give this a go at the first opportunity I get!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jotne and 25 guests