Community discussions

 
User avatar
smccloud
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

hAP ac as router only?

Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:53 pm

I'm currently running a full Meraki stack at home but I'm rather upset at the lack of IPv6 support on the WAN interface on my router. So I am planning on going back to my hAP ac and using it as just a router so I can get IPv6 support on my network. Am I correct in thinking that I would just follow https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... figuration and set Wireless Mode to disabled (or whatever that option is)? Additionally, I haven't ever setup VLANs on a MikroTik device so I'm guessing I'd just follow the directions at https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/VLAN
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23904
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:57 pm

Yes, of course, you can turn off WiFI interfaces and use it only for ethernet routing.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
juzaili
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:32 pm
Location: ipoh
Contact:

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:29 pm

Yes, can!
 
User avatar
smccloud
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:31 pm

And my assumptions for how to do what I want are correct, right? I know I will have to find my old posts here about IPv6 PD but that is ok.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2450
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:57 pm

Ensure on latest firmware first.
Not knowledgeable on ipv6 but assuming any setup will mirror an ipv4 setup for the most part??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
User avatar
smccloud
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:43 pm

Went to plug in my hAP ac to work on configuring it today and ran into an issue. Can't find my power adapter for it. What size plug is it so I can find the correct one on Amazon?
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:00 pm

"direct-input power jack (5.5 mm outside and 2 mm inside, female, pin positive plug) accepts 11-57 V DC."
https://i.mt.lv/cdn/rb_files/1539835625hAP-ac-qg.pdf
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2450
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: hAP ac as router only?

Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:36 pm

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=143620

After you read the wiki ensure you visit the thread above.
Most Excellent thread on VLANs (will probably soon be a sticky once its fully flushed out)!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests