Community discussions

 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:28 pm

Ok this will be a super noob question, but im having problems setting up a VPN.

The setup didnt work, so i tried to just ping my static IP and i get no response even there. I also have no idea what is cutting it off?
Ping works if i am connected to the router (to public ip) but from outside (lets say from LTE) nothing...

What must i do to let traffic in?

Setup is a bog-standard defconf.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3130
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:36 pm

post config please
/export hide-sensitive file=yourconfig
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1795
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:39 pm

Do you get a public ip? Or maybe private or CGNat specific one?
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:43 pm

Its a static public IP form ISP. internet on the router works fine, but pinging it form outside seems impossible
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:46 pm

Config removed for safety
Last edited by TheSirStumfy on Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3130
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:05 pm

/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 name=router.lan
You can get rid of this default rule as your setup changes covers DNS.

add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
You can remove untracked as its a special case not typically used.

add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
Same here you can remove untracked.

Other than that I dont see anything out of whack that would cause issues???

Can you confirm with grc.com that your router is not pingable.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:17 pm

tried all of suggested stuff, nothing. still no ping from outside.
 
DummyPLUG
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:17 am

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:28 pm

First of all make sure ping isn't filter by your ISP, as I can't see your firewall config so I can't comment on that.
and you said VPN isn't working, is that a PPTP or IPSec or OVPN?
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:42 pm

Called ISP, there fault, incorrect gateway settings on there modem.

Facepalm
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic  [SOLVED]

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:14 pm

Regarding VPN i had to DMZ the main router on the modem/router to get trough, in case anyone in future helps.
 
DummyPLUG
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:17 am

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:18 pm

You mean there is another router (provide by ISP?) before the mikrotik? If so see if that router can set to "bridge mode"

sometime DMZ won't solve double nat problem
Last edited by DummyPLUG on Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:21 pm

Yeah in front there is the standard modem/switch/wifi thing the ISP gives you, since they dont allow PPPOE direct on the Microtik.
 
TheSirStumfy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:25 pm

You mean there is another router (provide by ISP?) before the mikrotik? If so see if that router can set to "bridge mode"

sometime DMZ won't solve double nat problem
Its seems this DMZ actually does what it says :)
 
DummyPLUG
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:17 am

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:29 pm

Try google for solutions, may be somebody had figure a way to use bridge mode for that modem or find a way to use their own router to do pppoe
 
DummyPLUG
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:17 am

Re: Setting up incoming traffic

Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:30 pm

You mean there is another router (provide by ISP?) before the mikrotik? If so see if that router can set to "bridge mode"

sometime DMZ won't solve double nat problem
Its seems this DMZ actually does what it says :)
Most of the time, but not everything works right for double nat even after DMZ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests