Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020

a575606
just joined
Topic Author

OpenVPN Server Setup with Windows 10 client - MANAGEMENT: >STATE: xxx,TCP_CONNECT

Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:28 pm

Hi, I'm new to Mikrotik and part of the reason I decided to get the RB4011 wifi router was to learn more about networking. I have a grasp of networking basics and I have a pretty solid IT background, but I'm finding a lot of things don't seem to work as expected in Router OS. I have strange wifi issues and often I follow a tutorial online and it doesn't work the same way... so I'm a bit stuck and was hoping someone might be willing to help.

I have an issue setting up OpenVPN server on the router and connecting via windows 10 client. Hear me out before saying this has already been discussed, and linking other threads. I've probably read all of them, and I've also run through this guide twice, and I'm stuck. (https://systemzone.net/mikrotik-openvpn ... ws-client/)

After setting everything up, when I try to connect the connection hangs at this point in the process:

Mon Mar 04 01:03:55 2019 MANAGEMENT: >STATE: xxxxx,TCP_CONNECT,,,,,,
Mon Mar 04 01:05:55 2019 TCP: connect to [AF_INET]x.x.x.x:1194 failed: Unknown error

The basic router configuration is working fine. I added and signed the ca, server and client certs, exported them. I followed the config template given in the link, but that didn't connect at all, so I had to tweak it a bit, but here's what I ended up with:
dev tun
proto tcp-client

remote x.x.x.x 1194

ca ca.crt
cert client.crt
key client.key

tls-client
port 1194

persist-tun
persist-key

nobind

remote-cert-tls server

verb 3
mute-replay-warnings

cipher AES-256-CBC
auth SHA1
auth-user-pass secret
auth-nocache
pull
It's the server config where things get a bit hazy for me. Under PPP -> Interface, I have OVPN Server enabled, port 1194, Mode: ip, Netmask 24 and Certificate set to the server cert and all the right Auth options checked.