Page 1 of 1

Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:38 pm
by halacs
Hi,

I have two Mikrotik router and a DD-WRT too.

Would it be possible to use one of them as a radius server for the WiFi authentication at least? I have WPA2-PSK with MAC filtering. It would be nice to configure WiFi users only one place and other APs use that central authentication device. Radius looks promising but don't know how to configure it properly.

Dealing with admin users on Mikrotik routers similarly would be a plus.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:35 pm
by joegoldman
You can use userman as a built in Radius sever, however its generally more for Hotspot usage, if your looking for 802.1x auth it might not work for that. Im not sure.

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:55 am
by halacs
It is part of the extra packages, right? I have downloaded these files but how to install?

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:37 pm
by anav
It is part of the extra packages, right? I have downloaded these files but how to install?
No idea, but there are probably plenty of docs and videos you could use google to search for!!

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:18 pm
by mkx
It is part of the extra packages, right? I have downloaded these files but how to install?
Take needed .npk files out of ZIP archive and push them to root folder of files section (either scp, ftp or winbox files can do it). Reboot device afterwards and the packages should get installed. If they don't, /log print should say something about it ... if it doesn't, then .npk files ended in a wrong place.

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:02 am
by AminYounessi
Hi,

I have two Mikrotik router and a DD-WRT too.

Would it be possible to use one of them as a radius server for the WiFi authentication at least? I have WPA2-PSK with MAC filtering. It would be nice to configure WiFi users only one place and other APs use that central authentication device. Radius looks promising but don't know how to configure it properly.

Dealing with admin users on Mikrotik routers similarly would be a plus.

Thanks in advance!
Hi,

You need to download the .zip file(Extra package from https://mikrotik.com/download ) of your routerboard routerOS then extract it and find the "user-manager" package from there, After that you need to upload "user-manager" package in the root of your routerboard then reboot your router and when your router comes up again check the packages from system/package path and if you see the user-manager package installed there it means your router can act as a AAA server. you can configure your user-manager by command line or you can use the web browser with this address:
http://your_router_ip_address/userman

Re: Radus server in my Mikrotik router

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:30 am
by halacs
Thanks all the help. Now it works. I made a stupid mistake first why the package wasn't installed after reboot: forget to check the architecture.
Now I have a working radius server tested with MAC authentication on my WiFi. Next step would be to configure it with a DD-WRT WiFi AP too.