Community discussions

MikroTik App

nikolav75
just joined
Topic Author

Best VPN for Mikrotik / RouterOS

Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:18 am

Hey guys.
First thing first I'm a complete noob in networking, so forgive me if my question is stupid and in the wrong section of the forum.
My router is RB951G-2HnD, currently running on RouterOS v6.43.4

So what I want to achieve is to be hidden when browsing from home through various devices. That include all PCs, phones, Android TV Boxes (Kodi) and downloading torrent files through a NAS that doesn't support a VPN client itself. The most important to me is staying anonymous when torrenting through the NAS and when using Kodi.

Which is the easiest (and if possible cheapest) way to achieve this with the router? Is it possible to exclude a device from the VPN? For example, I watch Netflix with my TV and I do NOT wont to use the VPN for that.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Best VPN for Mikrotik / RouterOS

Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:15 am

So you are asking what third party vendor VPN is best? Try google.

nikolav75
just joined
Topic Author

Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:38 am

I did Anav. One of the first hits was NordVPN, but I see it doesn't support MikroTik anymore. Hence I'm asking here.

r00t
Long time Member
Long time Member

Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:33 pm

Best VPN is one you make yourself, host CHR somewhere and use native Mikrotik protocols (EoIP,IPIP,etc.)
Generally avoid TCP based protocols (SSTP,OpenVPN) for performance reasons (single TCP connection), always prefer UDP ones (PPTP,L2TP,...).

Obviously it all depends on what you are trying to do, if you are trying to break free from China, your options will be quite different then when you are in a "free world" and can simply pick any protocol you have and it will work...

nikolav75
just joined
Topic Author

Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:23 pm

Guys, maybe I asked the wrong question.