Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
RavenBlack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:17 pm

How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:11 am

Hi, All,

I was dealing with apparently the same issue couple of years ago as well (viewtopic.php?t=107336), but solution used then, does not work now.

Basic set-up is this.
2x hAP routers. Both RouterOS v6.44.1

“Border Router”
is border router/firewall directly connected to ISP. It runs DHCP server. DHCP range is very small 192.168.1.10 - 192.168.1.40.
LAN is 192.168.1.0/24
IP for the router is 192.168.1.1

“AP”
Another router is in another part of the building (for WiFi coverage). it is set up using Quick Set interface as follows:

Set to WISP AP
Mode: Bridge
Address Acquisition: Static
IP address: 192.168.1.2
Netmask: 255.255.255.0(/24)
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS: 8.8.8.8

“AP” port 1 is connected to “Border Router” port 5, so that “AP” is using PoE.

If I connect any device (to RJ45 or wirelessly) to “AP”, the device does get IP via DHCP from “Border Router” and does get internet access.

I can ping “AP” (192.168.1.2)

But I cannot connect to “AP” (192.168.1.2) via web interface (service is enabled) or via WinBox (service is enabled) via IP. I can only connect to “AP” using WinBox and via MAC address. Since I use Linux with HiDPI, WinBox is pretty much unusable and I have to boot into Windows to connect to “AP”.

What am I missing? How to I make “AP” (192.168.1.2) manageable via Web Interface from device on 192.168.1.0/24 network?
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:54 pm

I suspect the IP Address is not on the right interface. In winbox, ip>addresses, be sure that the IP is on interface=bridge (or the name of your bridge.)
 
RavenBlack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:17 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:07 pm

Thaks 2frogs,

good point. I'll check it out.
 
RavenBlack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:17 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:24 pm

Unfortunately, it didn't work.

Originaly 192.168.1.2 was set to ether2-master.

I've set IP address 192.168.1.2 to ether1, then bridge. Tried rebooting the router after each change (just in case), but nothing worked. Still can't connect to the router set as WISP AP.
 
RavenBlack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:17 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:39 pm

I'm still struggling with this. Anyone got any suggestions what else to try?
 
RavenBlack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:17 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:27 am

What fixed it for me was resetting configuration (System -> Reset Configuration and check "No Default Configuration" box).
Connect to the router via cable then use Winbox to access router via MAC address.
When setting WISP AP (via Quick Set interface), set "Mode" to "Bridge", set "Address Acquisition" to "Static", give it an address in the same subnet the DHCP server range and DO NOT set "Gateway" or "DNS Servers" parameters.
 
burnside
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:29 am

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Tue Jul 09, 2019 11:08 pm

What fixed it for me was resetting configuration (System -> Reset Configuration and check "No Default Configuration" box).
Connect to the router via cable then use Winbox to access router via MAC address.
When setting WISP AP (via Quick Set interface), set "Mode" to "Bridge", set "Address Acquisition" to "Static", give it an address in the same subnet the DHCP server range and DO NOT set "Gateway" or "DNS Servers" parameters.
Thank you RavenBlack - this process worked for me.
 
nhenderson
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 10:43 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Mon Dec 28, 2020 6:26 pm

Thanks to RavenBlack, worked for me! A couple of things I ran into:
1) Winbox gave me "bad username or password" even on the unconfigured router. This must have been due to a version incompatibility, as soon as I downloaded the latest winbox64.exe I got access.
2) At the end of the process it morphed on its own, to CPE mode, setting the WiFi interfaces into station mode. Fortunately it kept the other settings OK. I just had to reconfigure the WiFi interfaces to ap bridge mode (and set all of the other WiFi parameters).
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:43 pm

I have discovered there is a flaw in the script that the Quickset uses to change to WISP AP. It leaves intact and active the default firewall rules, including the Drop Input not from the Interface-List LAN. It also removes the Bridge Interface from this list and only adds the individual Interfaces (ie ether1, ether2,.. wlan1,..) Since most use WISP AP to bridge all Interfaces together, the Interfaces are slaved to the Bridge and are not seen as individual Interfaces. This means the default Drop rule is now dropping all IP traffic to the device.

Until it is fixed, you can disable or remove all firewall rules before using the Quickset to make the change. Or you can connect to the device afterwards using Windows to connect using MAC address.

I submitted this to support a year ago, maybe I should re-submit it.
 
linGeRvanTAt
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Sun Feb 21, 2021 2:57 pm

Quickset […] WISP AP […] leaves […] the default firewall rules [intact]
Same here, still with 7.1beta4. I normally do not use Windows Microsoft. And those rules kill not only WebFig but everything including the command-line interface (CLI) via SSH.

Again and again, users get trapped like @marche in Jul. 2018, @pgueorguiev in Nov. 2018, @robshep952 in Jan. 2019, @pimseb in Mar. 2019, @GeorgeAA in Apr. 2019, @kuklei in May 2019, @markkane in Jun. 2019, @burnside in Jul. 2019, @slavisar in Aug. 2019, @banjopicker in Sep. 2019, @tvhung83 in Nov. 2019, and there is even a third-party blog post about this … I do not want to know how many users learned about the solution but did not report. And I do not want to know how many returned their MicroTik because they could not figure it out.

Can you share a bug ticket ID, so I can +13 it? Or was it rejected as works-as-expected?
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: How do I manage WISP AP via WebUI?

Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:53 pm

Less of a works-as-expected and more of a you-cant-mikrotik... I gave up! 😕

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JazzMaster and 78 guests