Community discussions

MikroTik App

guestph
just joined
Topic Author

HELP: Access Mikrotik Router Externally

Sat May 04, 2019 4:52 pm

The thing is that i'm new in configuring my Mikrotik hAP Lite TC but i already learned the basics of it thanks to Mikrotik Wiki and this forum. And now, I got this problem accessing my Mikrotik router from my laptop wirelessly both connected ,RJ45 Cable for MT hAP Lite and Wi-Fi for my Laptop, to a modem (Provided by local ISP).

Firstly i tried connecting my laptop to the MT hAP Lite using its hotspot via Telnet and works perfectly fine also tried connecting directly my laptop to the MT hAP lite via RJ45 Cable also works fine.
Then now I want to access my MT hAP lite from my laptop which is both connected to my modem, I tried using the IP Address provided by the DHCP of the modem and also the default IP of MT hAP lite (192.168.88.1) through Telnet Client but failed.

Am I missing something?

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: HELP: Access Mikrotik Router Externally

Sat May 04, 2019 6:00 pm

ISP's modem and its subnet is considered as untrustworthy internet by Routerboard's firewall by default.

You should reconsider your wish to connect to your RB from anywhere else than RB's LAN ... and if you are absolutely sure it should be allowed, you'll have to adjust firewall rules. As that means creating potential security holes, I won't give you any recipes. Read some firewall rule documentation and understand it. When you do, you'll be able to adjust firewall rules, it's not that hard after all.

erlinden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sat May 04, 2019 6:41 pm

You might want to consider turning off fouter functionality on the Mikoritik. Just use it as switch and accesspoint (by removing NAT and creating a bridge where all interfaces should be part of).

flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Sat May 04, 2019 9:04 pm

add rule
/ip firewall filter add chain=input action=accept protocol=tcp dst-port=8291