Community discussions

MikroTik App

gmx
just joined
Topic Author

Help setting IPv6 with Japanese ISP

Wed May 15, 2019 5:33 pm

Hello,

I am a RB newbie and currently struggling with the setup of my Hex S in order to have IPv6 to work with my FTTH connection. My ISP provides a simple ONU/media converter and a /64 prefix without prefix delegation. The steps I have taken in order to setup IPv6 are:

1. IPv6 > DHCPv6 client > Add new
- Interface ether1 (where my ONU is connected)
- Pool name "pool-ipv6"
- Pool prefix length: 64
- User Peer DNS, Add default route both checked

After step 1, the newly added DHPv6 client is stuck with status "searching".
No prefix or address is displayed for this client.

After some online search, it looks that some functionality called "RA Proxy" (which afaik does not seem available in RB yet) is needed for the RA to flow to the network. As a workaround to this, some blogs outline the following process:

2. Tools > Traceroute > Traceroute to 2001:4860:4860::8888
The output would look like this:
 # ADDRESS                          LOSS SENT    LAST     AVG    BEST   WORST
 1 2409:10:dead:beef::cafe            0%   51   1.4ms     1.4     0.9     1.7
 2                                  100%   51 timeout
 3                                  100%   51 timeout
 4 2404:9200:226:2::1                 0%   51   4.4ms     6.3     3.8    53.1
 5 2001:268:fa00:29c::1             76..   51 timeout    17.5     4.6   142.3
 6 2001:268:fa00:200::1007          60..   51   6.1ms     5.8     4.6       7
 7 2001:268:fa02:16d::2              94%   51   7.4ms     5.3     4.1     7.4
 8 2001:4860:1:1:0:1:0:48             0%   50   4.6ms     4.6     4.2     7.4
 9 2404:6800:8092::1                  0%   50   4.6ms     5.2     4.3     7.1
10 2001:4860:4860::8888               0%   50   4.4ms     5.6       4     7.9