Community discussions

 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 2:07 pm

Hello.

I am proud user of RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT or hAP ac.
I have 700mbit internet line i my house. Also i have computer with gigabit 5ghz/2,4ghz WLAN (probably, fastest speed it can handle is about 600mbit) and gigabit ethernet on this PC.
Only, thing, that i have changed in my router settings is added pasword and updated it to newer routerOS version.

But, in my PC, when connected to 5ghz, i can only get maximum of ~270mbit.
Please help me, to understand - is that maximum of what can i get from my wifi? Or i need to make some configuration in settings, to get more wifi speed?
Please help me, i am total beginner about this :)
 
rbuserdl
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 2:51 pm

Hello,
I am not an expert but as far as I know there is not any limitation of bandwidth in the default settings
Did you try connecting the PC with cable? (I hate Wireless)

Regards
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 5:01 pm

Yes, i tried.
Using wire, i can get speeds up to ~650mbit, depenting of moment of day.

Ok, just found something: I found, that my computer gets only 433,3mbits. Tried to search, what this means and found, that i need to change to 80mhz? Am i right? :D
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3104
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 5:37 pm

Sounds like perhaps tweaking some wifi settings. If the computer is in the same room as the AP you should get close to same speeds as wired.

Looking at the test results.......
I would state you should be getting around 500-800 wired. (512K setting with 25 bridge- 25 filter rules)
Seeing as your internet iprovider is maxed at 700, somewhere around 600 Mbps is reasonable.

For WIFI: It states 1300Mbits per second (the marketing speak)..........
For most wifi I use the 2/3 rule............ due to losses and the variance of wifi so the best you could hope for is 866mbps..... (assuming AC connectivity).
Therefore it is puzzling why your results are so poor?

Perhaps the wifi card in the PC and the Router are mad at each other?
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 5:41 pm

I start go get your point.
But, where and what i need to change, to get atleast that 866mbits in my pc?
And i sit ~1,5m from router in same room.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3104
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 5:49 pm

First thing I would do is find out what is the wifi card in my PC and see if it has any known issues with the qualcomm wifi chip in the router.
If there is nothing on the net, then chances are its probably wifi settings on the router that need adjusting.
Unfortunately I am no guru...............

Probably a good place to start!!
https://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/ ... 209343.pdf
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Thu May 23, 2019 5:51 pm

Found this topic (have you tried the search option?):
viewtopic.php?t=86734

By selecting Ceee (or any orther 4 digit option) you will get 80MHz channel width.

Make sure you select the channel manually ( I totaly dislike the auto option) and turn down tranmission power (search for antenna gain ;))
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 9:49 am

Ok, i selected Ceee.
But, nothing changes.
In my PC, i can see, that it connects to 802.11n. And even, when i switch in router settings, that it need to use only AC, my PC still shows 802.11n. I am getting more and more confused now :?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24264
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:06 am

You should probably also check what the PC actually supports. Maybe it only supports 20MHz and has one chain/antenna.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:18 am

Ok, will check.

Also noticed, that in my phone, i can only get about 280mbit speed.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24264
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:22 am

Not a lot of phones and computers have three chains, not a lot will have two.
Most devices have 1 or 2.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802. ... igurations
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:29 am

Cant find, but i think that Huawei P20lite ANE-LX1 version should have 2 :?
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri May 24, 2019 10:51 am

Can you please share your current settings?
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:20 pm

Hello, friends!

Sorry, for late reply.

I think, that i have found problem, for lack of wifi speed. I think that problem is in my laptop wifi card. Currently i use HP 250 G6 PC with windows 10. And it uses Intel 3168NGW (Or Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168) wireless card. Over witi, it supports only 433 Mbps. In my laptop, i get around 330 Mbps
In my house, i have gigabit internet connection.
Can some one, please help to find the best alternative, for this wifi card? Because, all cards that i have found similar as this 9260NGW (for example Intel Wireless Network Adapter Card AC 9260 2230 2x2 AC), specification says it supports speeds up to 1733Mbps (understand, that i can't get over gigabit, but little bit less). But, in description i see, that it doesn't support HP computers (from Ebay).

So, can someone help me find the best one wifi card, that is suitable for my computer?
After solving wifi card problem, i will keep to solve my hap ac configuration, because i did full reset (only added password now).
 
Mast3rz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: hAP ac - How to configure?

Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:35 am

Any one, please?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests