Community discussions

 
Visroni
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:07 am

NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 11:13 am

Hello all,
This is my first post and I would like some help how to solve this problem.

I got MikroTik RouterBOARD RB3011UiAS-RM, and on eth1 i connected ISP modem/router which has address 192.168.0.1 and the problem is , when i connect by wifi to this isp modem/router(from phone for example, i get 192.168.0.14) I cant access MikroTik at all (which has address 192.168.1.1) which by me is fine, but I would like to expose lets say DVR or NAS which has address 192.168.1.254 so that IT can be accessed by wifi.I tryed several dst -src nat but i can access only when connected directly to mikrotik

Thank you in advance!
 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

Re: NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 1:02 pm

Best solution is to ask your provider to put their device in bridge mode and disable wireless. Then you can enable wireless and NAT on your router and your devices can be accessible from anywhere not just from your intranet.

Regards
 
Visroni
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:07 am

Re: NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 1:04 pm

Best solution is to ask your provider to put their device in bridge mode and disable wireless. Then you can enable wireless and NAT on your router and your devices can be accessible from anywhere not just from your intranet.

Regards
i could agree with you, but in that way, all things connected to mikrotik would be exposed, and i dont want that, i only want to expose dvr/nas etc
 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

Re: NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 1:34 pm

Only ports and services you enable throug NAT would be exposed (you will protect them with passwords and so on...) everything else wil be behind nat, ergo - unacessible.

Also there are a numerous possibilities to configure your firewal rules which will additionaly help to secure your network.

ragards
 
Visroni
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:07 am

Re: NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 2:01 pm

Only ports and services you enable throug NAT would be exposed (you will protect them with passwords and so on...) everything else wil be behind nat, ergo - unacessible.

Also there are a numerous possibilities to configure your firewal rules which will additionaly help to secure your network.

ragards
ok, but why i cant see anything from wifi, 192.168.0.14 - for example dvr at 192.168.1.254 - when i add src/dest nat firewall rule? it is either, i am doing this wrong or ?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4794
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: NAT problem?

Fri May 31, 2019 3:28 pm

Wild guess, your dstnat rule could be wrong. Maybe if you'd show it to someone, they could see what the problem is.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
Visroni
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:07 am

Re: NAT problem?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:37 am

Wild guess, your dstnat rule could be wrong. Maybe if you'd show it to someone, they could see what the problem is.
ah ok, now i understand my problem, since eth1 is WAN for mikrotik (192.168.0.12) and my phone is connected via wifi on that same router, it gets 192.168.0.14
i need to somehow redirect trafic to MT local ip address of DVR 192.168.1.254 - i tryed setting several destination nats, but i got nothing, empty log etc, it looks like it does not reach 192.168.1.1 - MT private address?
 
DavidClark
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:25 pm

Re: NAT problem?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:12 am

Make a firewall NAT to dstnat between 192.168.0.0/24 and 192.168.1.0/24 (or between interfaces). then put a route to forward LAN network traffic to WAN and WAN network traffic to LAN. that should do the trick. if you need just specific IPs accessible define in firewall nat rule and route rules.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4794
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: NAT problem?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 3:43 pm

... - i tryed setting several destination nats, ...
And you still didn't show us any...
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3106
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: NAT problem?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:03 pm

Perhaps there is a Router God, that can see configurations over long distances??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
Visroni
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:07 am

Re: NAT problem?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:43 pm

Perhaps there is a Router God, that can see configurations over long distances??
haha nice jok, you are all right
but i think at end i will solve it by putting new wifi router behind mikrotik and disable wifi from ISP
thank you all for patience and understanding
 
Exiver
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: NAT problem?

Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:07 am

Perhaps there is a Router God, that can see configurations over long distances??
haha nice jok, you are all right
but i think at end i will solve it by putting new wifi router behind mikrotik and disable wifi from ISP
thank you all for patience and understanding
You could have posted your configuration to make sure people are able to overlook possible errors in your configuration. But it looks like the problem can be cleared if we dig a little bit deeper.
You are connected to the network 192.168.0.0/24 via wifi. If you try to reach some host in 192.168.1.0/24 your computer (or whatever device) will send packets to the standard-gateway since you should have only one route on that client (0.0.0.0/0 via gateway - means every packet gets send to your ISPs device). The ISP-device does not know about the subnet 192.168.1.0/24. If its configured properly it wont route the traffic anywhere but just drop the packets. If its misconfigured it may sends the packet to the ISPs next hop (who hopefully will throw it away).

In this case you have 2 options:

-> You could either tell the ISP device that Network 192.168.1.0/24 is reachable via the mikrotiks ip (192.168.0.12), sometimes called "static routes" or something like that. Its possible that ISPs device is not giving you the option to setup static routes.

-> You could go with destination-nat rules. In this case you would setup a dst-nat rule with dst-address set to mikrotiks eth1 ip (192.168.0.12), matching a destination port (you chose this one) and natting it to to-address and to-port of your choice (in the network behind your mikrotik router, to-address and to-port must match with your dvr or whatever device you are trying to forward). Now you need to connect to mikrotiks eth1 ip from your wifi-client (use the port you chose in dst-nat rule). If you do not have any firewall-filter rules setup this will work right away. If you have set them you need to setup the accept-rule as well.
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: NAT problem?

Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:48 am

To put it straight.
Your ISP router is set up with DHCP and assigns addreses 192.168.0.0/24. It doesn't know, that your Mikrotik has it's LAN address assigned as 192.168.1.1, because it's on the LAN side of Mikrotik. You can only access (PORBABLY, we don't know it because we don't know your configs at all) using Mikrotik's WAN address, which is I guess something between 192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.254.
Generally nobody knows either you have a single NAT, double NAT or no NAT, because we are not clairvoyants.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests