Community discussions

 
Cveto
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:06 am

VLAN Trunk and Access Ports on Same Device

Mon Jun 03, 2019 12:17 am

Hi,

what would be the steps to configure 3 VLANs wiht one physical trunk port while also bridging Ethernet and Wireless "public" VLAN network and providing some access/hybrid ports on the router itself?

Image

I am confused with the changes in "style" of VLAN configuration post RouterOS 6.41, so any help is appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2925
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: VLAN Trunk and Access Ports on Same Device

Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:43 am

I recommend you to read through this tutorial. Then come back with some concrete questions.
BR,
Metod
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2967
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VLAN Trunk and Access Ports on Same Device

Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:10 pm

Concur with MKX, that is the best reference for setting up VLANS. Take note that the author avoids using vlan1 for anything other than default settings for some devices.
In other words do not use vlan1 as some sort of untagged entity and dont use it for an admin vlan.

The one thing I am not sure the above article addresses adquately is hybrid vlans, and thus for that particular functionality this link has some merit!
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Bridge_VLAN_Table (check out 4th diagram).
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests