Community discussions

 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Thu Jun 06, 2019 2:54 pm

This is more of a subjective questions, but...

I want comment out some the DHCP leases the router is giving out. Most of the time this is done in conjunction with assigning a specific IP address outside of the pool/scope. I am not as concerned with what the IP address is - simply who/what the host is.

Do you typically move these outside your pool/scope or leave them in it? I don't think it really matters as the router will not hand out that in-scope address for that host if it sees a reservation ... right?

Thanks in advance.
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:30 am

Any ideas?
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: Magrathean

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:05 am

Its not clear what you want.

I convert all DHCP for my small net to static IP, then add DNS names for them. This way all units get the same IP all time and with a understandable name.
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2468
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:28 am

My SOP is to move static leases out of pool range, which then effectively acts as address pool for (yet) unknown devices. Additional benefit is that I can tell if device is known to me from its IP address.

On most sites I run internal DNS (on separate small server) ... so when I set static DHCP lease, I also add (by hand) that device to DNS system.
BR,
Metod
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:45 am

Thanks guys - that was what I was looking for.
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: Magrathean

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:46 pm

On most sites I run internal DNS (on separate small server) ... so when I set static DHCP lease, I also add (by hand) that device to DNS system.
This you can do on the MT Router itself. No need for an external server.
 
How to use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2468
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:35 pm

On most sites I run internal DNS (on separate small server) ... so when I set static DHCP lease, I also add (by hand) that device to DNS system.
This you can do on the MT Router itself. No need for an external server.
I know ... and that's not the point.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: DHCP reservation in or out of Pool/Scope?

Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:19 am

I'm the same as all the rest here. All known DHCP clients are given a DHCP reservation outside of the IP Pool. Most of the pools are only 10 IPs (and in reality, I could normally get away with one or two).
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests