Community discussions

 
aleksanderm
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:55 pm

One queue or hundred queues

Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:12 pm

Hello,

I would like to buy a MikroTik router for my network - lets say 100 hosts behind a NAT. I would like to set the 10Mbit "speed" limit for each user. Do I need to configure 1 queue or 100 queues? In other words: does it counts as a 1queue or 100 queues. I'm asking because some of the MikroTik devices has queue limit, for example "20 simple queues". Of course I read the manula: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Queue, but this is still not completly clear to me.

Best regards,
Aleksander
 
HzMeister
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:48 pm

Re: One queue or hundred queues  [SOLVED]

Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:52 pm

The easiest would be to use pcq.
Make one queue that encompases all of the hosts and set the pcq-rate to 10M.
There is no queue limit in mikrotik - you can have thousands of queues(both simple and in queue tree).
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: One queue or hundred queues

Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:43 pm

I'm asking because some of the MikroTik devices has queue limit, for example "20 simple queues".
Those aren't limits, they are just one of the configurations that are tested and reported in the device's performance matrix for the brochure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests