Community discussions

 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Sun Jul 07, 2019 2:59 pm

Good day,

I just started setting up my new RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD. I have a Cisco GigE SFP as the WAN port and ether1 as my primary LAN connection. I have setup some basic firewall rules, and my IPv6 tunnel but nothing else. Download speeds should be around 300 Mbps, but I getting much lower than I was when using the Cisco RV340W I am replacing.

Any advice you can offer would be most appreciated.

Current:
DOWNLOAD 12.09 Mbps
UPLOAD 36.14 Mbps
Virgin Media<->Vodafone IE

Previous:
DOWNLOAD 341.11 Mbps
UPLOAD 35.96 Mbps
Virgin Media<->IP Telecom
router-pdn-export.rsc
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Docop
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 3:56 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:39 pm

have you tried it fresh, no ipv6, no tunnel, no extra firewall ?
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:55 pm

have you tried it fresh, no ipv6, no tunnel, no extra firewall ?
I did indeed, fresh out of the box configuration with only the masquerade rules, and I get the same speed. I decided to fall back from the SFP , tried a single interface (ether1), then tried a bond of two ports (9/10) and all get about the same performance.
 
User avatar
mozerd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Sun Jul 07, 2019 4:55 pm

Current:
DOWNLOAD 12.09 Mbps
UPLOAD 36.14 Mbps
Virgin Media<->Vodafone IE

Previous:
DOWNLOAD 341.11 Mbps
UPLOAD 35.96 Mbps
Virgin Media<->IP Telecom

router-pdn-export.rsc
Some questions:
I will assume that your WAN connection is Fiber from Virgin Media -- so is the Cisco GigE SFP module white-listed [approved] by Virgin?
Do you know the SYNC rate that Virgin is using ... is it 1.25G or 2,5G?

From your description of the issue my assumption would point to the wrong transceiver sync rate which usually means you have to use a module that is approved by Virgin for it work properly. The Other issue is that The RB4011 does not support Passive DAC modules and SFP GPON modules --- so this usually means that if you want to use the RB4011 SFP+ port for WAN you cannot do that --- instead you will need to use one of your Ethernet Ports like ether1 ... and the connectivity chain for that method is via a Media Converter that connects to Virgin using an approved SFP module and from the Media Converter to ether1 on the RB4011.

I have no experience with Virgin Media -- so I am just giving you some possibilities. Perhaps some other user who does have experience using Virgin and the RB4011 can chime in with how they establish connectivity.
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Sun Jul 07, 2019 5:12 pm

Some questions:
I will assume that your WAN connection is Fiber from Virgin Media -- so is the Cisco GigE SFP module white-listed [approved] by Virgin?
Do you know the SYNC rate that Virgin is using ... is it 1.25G or 2,5G?

From your description of the issue my assumption would point to the wrong transceiver sync rate which usually means you have to use a module that is approved by Virgin for it work properly. The Other issue is that The RB4011 does not support Passive DAC modules and SFP GPON modules --- so this usually means that if you want to use the RB4011 SFP+ port for WAN you cannot do that --- instead you will need to use one of your Ethernet Ports like ether1 ... and the connectivity chain for that method is via a Media Converter that connects to Virgin using an approved SFP module and from the Media Converter to ether1 on the RB4011.

I have no experience with Virgin Media -- so I am just giving you some possibilities. Perhaps some other user who does have experience using Virgin and the RB4011 can chime in with how they establish connectivity.
This is a simple Copper Cisco GLC-TE 1000BASE-T interface. I am using it purely for port-availability on the rest of the ether interfaces.

Additionally, I have tried with ether1, as well as a bond (just to see if the rate would double), however the rate of throughput is nearly constant (under 10Mbps).
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:56 am

I ended having to swap the cisco device back in. Having tried every permutation of interfaces, MSS clamping, doing packet captures (shed loads of DUP ACKs)
 
User avatar
mozerd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:41 pm

I ended having to swap the cisco device back in. Having tried every permutation of interfaces, MSS clamping, doing packet captures (shed loads of DUP ACKs)
If you sincerely want to be helped you need to answer some of the questions asked -- which questions you have chosen to avoid.
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Mon Jul 08, 2019 7:34 pm

I ended having to swap the cisco device back in. Having tried every permutation of interfaces, MSS clamping, doing packet captures (shed loads of DUP ACKs)
If you sincerely want to be helped you need to answer some of the questions asked -- which questions you have chosen to avoid.
Hi Mozerd,

No avoidance was intended. I thought I had answered by stating that this is not an optical connection. In addition, I eliminated the SFP from the issue by reverting to utilising ether1 as you suggested.
There is no SFP on the Virgin Media side of things.

If you are curious about the ISP connection parameters, here is what I have from their DOCIS3.0 modem:
General Configuration
Network access	Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs	10
Baseline Privacy	Enabled
DOCSIS Mode	DOCSIS 3.0
Config file	CH7465LG_cm_res005_v4-sip.bin

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID	200126981
Max Traffic Rate	10485760 bps
Max Traffic Burst	16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	0 bps
SFID	200126980
Max Traffic Rate	160000 bps
Max Traffic Burst	3044 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	12000 bps
SFID	200126979
Max Traffic Rate	385200000 bps
Max Traffic Burst	42600 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID	200118791
Max Traffic Rate	2097152 bps
Max Traffic Burst	16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst	16320 bytes
Scheduling Type	Best Effort
SFID	200118790
Max Traffic Rate	160000 bps
Max Traffic Burst	3044 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	12000 bps
Max Concatenated Burst	1522 bytes
Scheduling Type	Best Effort
SFID	200118786
Max Traffic Rate	38520000 bps
Max Traffic Burst	42600 bytes
Min Traffic Rate	0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst	42600 bytes
Scheduling Type	Best Effort
Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	482000000	0	38	256qam	10
2	187000000	0	37	256qam	2
3	195000000	0	38	256qam	3
4	203000000	0	38	256qam	4
5	474000000	0	37	256qam	9
6	179000000	0	37	256qam	1
7	490000000	0	38	256qam	11
8	498000000	1	38	256qam	12
9	506000000	1	38	256qam	13
10	514000000	1	38	256qam	14
11	522000000	2	38	256qam	15
12	530000000	1	38	256qam	16
13	634000000	2	37	256qam	20
14	642000000	2	37	256qam	21
15	650000000	2	38	256qam	22
16	658000000	1	38	256qam	23
17	666000000	2	38	256qam	24
18	674000000	2	37	256qam	25
19	682000000	2	38	256qam	26
20	690000000	2	38	256qam	27
21	698000000	2	38	256qam	28
22	706000000	2	37	256qam	29
23	714000000	4	38	256qam	30
24	722000000	4	38	256qam	31

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	38.605	1147773538	9
2	Locked	37.356	1145937620	11
3	Locked	38.605	1145938123	18
4	Locked	38.605	1145938501	14
5	Locked	37.636	1145938064	10
6	Locked	37.636	1145933045	36
7	Locked	38.605	1145934339	19
8	Locked	38.605	1145935447	8
9	Locked	38.605	1145938971	11
10	Locked	38.605	1145939827	3
11	Locked	38.983	1145940639	13
12	Locked	38.605	1145932941	14
13	Locked	37.636	1145941303	33
14	Locked	37.636	1145942449	62
15	Locked	38.258	1145943702	27
16	Locked	38.605	1145944374	55
17	Locked	38.983	1145945483	40
18	Locked	37.636	1145947871	75
19	Locked	38.605	1145948761	64
20	Locked	38.605	1145949602	65
21	Locked	38.605	1145952087	84
22	Locked	37.636	1145950848	60
23	Locked	38.605	1145954068	65
24	Locked	38.605	1145952893	54
Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	32800000	39	5.120	64qam	2
2	60200000	41	5.120	64qam	6
3	39400000	40	5.120	64qam	3
4	53600000	43	5.120	64qam	5
5	46000000	39	5.120	64qam	4

Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	2.0	0	0	2	0
2	2.0	0	0	1	0
3	2.0	0	0	1	0
4	2.0	0	0	3	0
5	2.0	0	0	2	0
 
User avatar
mozerd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:04 pm

My apologies I misunderstood.

Is you Cable Gateway in Bridge mode?
The power levels are excellent and your RoS code looks good to me. Confirm that your Ethernet cable is good.very strange that you’re not getting the throughput ..... perhaps a defective port, try another port.

Also make sure to shutdown your Cable modem, wait for 5 minutes then repower ... that may force a new profile for a different device especially when bridge mode is used.
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:55 pm

My apologies I misunderstood.

Is you Cable Gateway in Bridge mode?
The power levels are excellent and your RoS code looks good to me. Confirm that your Ethernet cable is good.very strange that you’re not getting the throughput ..... perhaps a defective port, try another port.

Also make sure to shutdown your Cable modem, wait for 5 minutes then repower ... that may force a new profile for a different device especially when bridge mode is used.
I am indeed in bridge mode. And as the MAC of the device to which DHCP has assigned an address from the upstream device is cached on the modem, every device or port change necessitates a power down of the Cable modem in order for address assignment to work. The connectivity permutations I have tried so far are as follows:
  1. Copper SFP as WAN link
  2. Ether1 as WAN link
  3. bond of ports ether5 and ether10 as WAN link
Each of these configurations, with no other parameters than a WAN list masquerade resulted in proper throughput.

I did achieve nearly 30 Mbps when I added MSS PMTU clamping to the firewall mangle table.

I also performed a packet capture whilst running a speedtest (speedtest.net to an ISP within 5 km of me) and saw massive numbers of DUP ACKs and retransmission.
 
User avatar
mozerd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Tue Jul 09, 2019 2:59 pm

Something is definitely wrong with your RB4011 ... try one more process of running netinstall-6.45.1 .... this will eliminate any form of corruption in the NAND memory and reinstall ROS -- then proceed with your Copper SFP as WAN link to see if that works -- it should and if it does not then I would suggest that you send MikroTik support your supout.rif file for their observations and suggestion -- if this is a new unit or under warranty you may be able to RMA it based on MikroTik Support's observations of the supout.rif.
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:44 pm

Something is definitely wrong with your RB4011 ... try one more process of running netinstall-6.45.1 .... this will eliminate any form of corruption in the NAND memory and reinstall ROS -- then proceed with your Copper SFP as WAN link to see if that works -- it should and if it does not then I would suggest that you send MikroTik support your supout.rif file for their observations and suggestion -- if this is a new unit or under warranty you may be able to RMA it based on MikroTik Support's observations of the supout.rif.
Thanks for your time, and all of the advice Mozerd. I will proceed with that process.
 
hechz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD on 6.45.1 Extremely slow network throughput to WAN

Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:16 am

Something is definitely wrong with your RB4011 ... try one more process of running netinstall-6.45.1 .... this will eliminate any form of corruption in the NAND memory and reinstall ROS -- then proceed with your Copper SFP as WAN link to see if that works -- it should and if it does not then I would suggest that you send MikroTik support your supout.rif file for their observations and suggestion -- if this is a new unit or under warranty you may be able to RMA it based on MikroTik Support's observations of the supout.rif.
So holy shit on shingle it was all on the ISP. After I swapped things back, my speeds were slow. I opened a ticket with them, and have a scheduled appointment with them on Thursday. "Magically" the speed improved a few minutes ago on the old router. I swapped the mikrotik back in, and the speeds were as follows:

PING ms
5
DOWNLOAD Mbps
199.07
UPLOAD Mbps
23.25

So the whole freaking time, it was the ISPs fault!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests