Community discussions

 
lordmata
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 4:20 pm

TP-Link router behind a MikroTik

Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:34 am

I have a MikroTik CRS125-24G-115-RM which is connected to my modem directly and assigned a public IP. It's /30.
All my LAN devices are connected to the MikroTik via 2 Cisco switches. On a separate port I have a TP-Link router working in router mode and broadcasting two WiFi networks, public and private. The TP-Link has a built in guest network module so I'm using that to segregate the private and public WiFi. Both the switches and the TP Link are in the same bridge in the MikroTik config. TP-Link WAN is a static IP matching the bridge outside of the DHCP pool of the bridge.
The WiFi itself can be a little sluggish from time to time. There are no queues set up on the port where the TP-Link router is connected to and nothing is limiting the connection.
I've noticed that sometimes DHCP fails and I have to reboot the TP-Link and then everything works for a while. Sometimes the images don't load on the WiFi, or the connection tends to be very slow.
Is there anything on the MikroTik I need to setup to allow this TP-Link to work properly?
 
jamieereynoldss
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 2:25 pm

Re: TP-Link router behind a MikroTik

Sat Jul 20, 2019 11:25 am

Have you tried the most typical - restart routers? Or maybe the problem is that you use two switches at the same time (despite the fact that they are in the same bridge in the configuration), maybe this is the reason. You should also check the cable for integrity.
And tell me, what is the distance between the two switches? It should not be too big.
Image
 
lordmata
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 4:20 pm

Re: TP-Link router behind a MikroTik

Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:14 pm

Have you tried the most typical - restart routers?
This is what I usually do and everything works for a while until it starts happening again-
Or maybe the problem is that you use two switches at the same time (despite the fact that they are in the same bridge in the configuration), maybe this is the reason. You should also check the cable for integrity.
I assume I would notice the same issues happening on the LAN, not just the WiFi. Cables are fine.
And tell me, what is the distance between the two switches? It should not be too big.
They're next to each other in the rack with the rest of the equipment.


Overall I was thinking I needed to add more priority to the port on the Mikrotik or something where the TP-Link router is, as I assumed the port will have more traffic than other ports and it's NAT-ing all the phones and laptops. Is there such a thing on Mikrotik, that you need to specify that there will be a lot of traffic and NAT happening on a specific port in the bridge?
 
Deadthor132
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: TP-Link router behind a MikroTik

Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:10 pm

Hi,

I also had a problem with the router from MikroTik, for some reason, it constantly turned off once every few days, maybe someone knows how to fix this problem? I don’t know what model he has, here is his picture

Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests