Community discussions

 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:38 am

Hi Friends,
I'm using a Mikrotik SXT LTE kit (product code RBSXTR&R11e-LTE).
I've added DNS primary and secondary both by OpenDns, now I would like to remove the provider Dynamic Server.
Could you suggest the right way?
I've search on the documentation with no luck :-?

Many thanks!


Davide
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:43 am

/ip dhcp-client set use-peer-dns=no

(client is 0)
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:00 pm

Hi erlinden and thanks for your reply!
I've try:

1) /ip dhcp-client set use-peer-dns=no
2) numbers: 0

Script Error: action cancelled


"0" to the question "numbers" was that what you wanted to say?


Thanks again!

Davide
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:04 pm

try this
/ip dhcp-client set use-peer-dns=no [find]
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:31 pm

Well, this second command did not give me errors, but how can I check if Dynamic Server has been removed?
Looking into webfig -> IP -> DNS It is still present:

Dynamic Servers 83.158.240.241

:?

Thanks Again!

Davide
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:28 pm

Can you show /ip dns print?

WebFig might have an caching thingie...
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:32 pm

/ip dns print  

                      servers: 218.67.222.222,208.67.220.220

              dynamic-servers: 83.158.240.241

        allow-remote-requests: yes

          max-udp-packet-size: 4096

         query-server-timeout: 2s

          query-total-timeout: 10s

       max-concurrent-queries: 100

  max-concurrent-tcp-sessions: 20

                   cache-size: 2048KiB

                cache-max-ttl: 1w

                   cache-used: 79KiB
Thanks again!

Davide
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:48 pm

I can't also not shed those and made a feature request for that.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=45934&p=741888#p741888
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE and both do IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta59 / Winbox 3.20 / MikroTik APP 1.3.7
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases (no root required)
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:58 pm

That's strange, especially as this seems to be a (your?) public IP address...
Your provider uses ns0.proxad.net and ns1.proxad.net (212.27.32.2 and 212.27.32.130).

Can you post a /export hide-sensitive please?
What version are you running?
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:03 pm

/export hide-sensitive 

# jul/31/2019 13:59:43 by RouterOS 6.42.10

# software id = J73U-WMIG

#

# model = RBSXTR

# serial number = A1870A9D55E4

/interface lte

set [ find ] mac-address=AC:FF:FF:00:00:00 mtu=1500 name=lte1 network-mode=3g,lte

/interface bridge

add admin-mac=74:4D:28:23:BD:7F auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge

/interface list

add comment=defconf name=WAN

add comment=defconf name=LAN

/interface lte apn

set [ find default=yes ] apn=iliad

/interface wireless security-profiles

set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik

/ip hotspot profile

set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot

/ip pool

add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254

/ip dhcp-server

add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf

/interface bridge port

add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether1

add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2

/interface list member

add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN

add comment=defconf interface=lte1 list=WAN

/ip address

add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether1 network=192.168.88.0

/ip dhcp-server network

add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1

/ip dns

set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=218.67.222.222,208.67.220.220

/ip dns static

add address=192.168.88.1 name=router.lan

/ip firewall filter

add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=in,ipsec

add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=out,ipsec

add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" connection-state=established,related

add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=established,related,untracked

add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid

add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN

add action=accept chain=input protocol=icmp

add action=accept chain=input connection-state=established

add action=accept chain=input connection-state=related

add action=drop chain=input in-interface-list=!LAN

/ip firewall nat

add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN

/ip service

set ssh port=*****

/system clock

set time-zone-name=Europe/Paris

/system routerboard settings

set silent-boot=no

/tool mac-server

set allowed-interface-list=LAN

/tool mac-server mac-winbox

set allowed-interface-list=LAN
Version v6.42.10 (long-term)


Thanks again!

Davide
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:38 pm

Try version 6.44.5 long term
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:14 am

..excuse me for the silly question, but how I could upgrade to 6.44.5 long term? Could you give me a documentation link page?
And eventually do I run the risk of turning my SXT LTE kit into a paperweight?..

Thanks again!


Davide
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:02 pm

I am on a Beta and that one also does not allow to remove the dynamic servers.
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE and both do IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta59 / Winbox 3.20 / MikroTik APP 1.3.7
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases (no root required)
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:20 pm

There is a WiKi page on how to upgrade a RB:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:U ... g_RouterOS

I know that 6.45.2 (current stable) works flawless...not sure why the beta isn't.

Upgrading is not without risks. Make sure you have a backup before performing the upgrade.
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:03 pm

There is a WiKi page on how to upgrade a RB:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:U ... g_RouterOS

I know that 6.45.2 (current stable) works flawless...not sure why the beta isn't.

Upgrading is not without risks. Make sure you have a backup before performing the upgrade.
Well, thanks!
Could you suggest the right way for a backup and eventually the right way for revert to the saved backup?

Thanks again!

Davide
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:09 pm

From Mikrotik Support:
Disable dhcp-clients "user-peer-dns" function:
/ip dhcp-client set 0 use-peer-dns=no



Thanks

Davide
 
User avatar
danjde
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Disabling o removing DNS Dynamic Servers

Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:35 pm

(again) from MIkrotik Support:
/interface lte apn set use-peer-dns=no
and then digit:
0
This one works fine!

/ip dns print 

                      servers: 218.67.222.222,208.67.220.220

              dynamic-servers: 

        allow-remote-requests: yes

          max-udp-packet-size: 4096

         query-server-timeout: 2s

          query-total-timeout: 10s

       max-concurrent-queries: 100

  max-concurrent-tcp-sessions: 20

                   cache-size: 2048KiB

                cache-max-ttl: 1w

                   cache-used: 35KiB

Thanks

Davide

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 41 guests