Page 1 of 1

Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:16 pm
by Russell18
Hi Friends,

Is it possible for a router to get infected? I am having this strange issue that my Antivirus Pops up a message saying that my Router might be infected. So I was trying to gather whether it is really possible or it's just adware. Has anyone faced this kind of issue before?

Re: Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:25 pm
by mistry7
If you Are using old Firmware, yes

Re: Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:33 pm
by Russell18
If you Are using old Firmware, yes
Is this how that works? If Yes, if I follow the steps here will it get resolved. Or I will need some more additional steps?

Re: Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:57 pm
by andriys
I will assume you are using a Mikrotik router (otherwise why would you post here). In case your router was compromised, the only reliable way to recover is to reinstall the RouterOS using netinstall.

Re: Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:45 pm
by anav
Not sure how avast knows this but i will assume its legit for now (many scam popups will claim your computer is infected etc etc.......)
As noted by the previous poster, get a fresh copy of the latest stable version from the Mikrotik website and use NETINSTALL do install.
Any other way is risky.

Re: Can Routers Get Infected?

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:53 pm
by Jotne
What router do you have, and what firmware are you on?
Old firmware have been hacked.