Community discussions

 
Prewest
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:35 pm

1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:22 pm

Hi,

I`m a little bit stuck, here`s my scenario;

I have 1 interface, 100mbit up and down.
Over this interface I have 2 vlans running, 55 and 57.
Now from the total link I need to prioritize vlan 57 for about 95% of total bandwidth up and down (only when used).

What is the best approach here? Maybe if someone could give me an example?
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:33 pm

Good question, I believe want you want to look into is queues!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
martinclaro
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:08 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:59 am

To do that, you will need to do load-balancing + failover (search for PCC or ECMP).
Queues won't help with traffic distribution, but will put a limit to the traffic outgoing from an interface.
Martín C. @ TopHost Soluciones
MTCNA | MTCTCE
 
Prewest
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:41 am

Anav:
Good question, I believe want you want to look into is queues!
Martinclaro:
To do that, you will need to do load-balancing + failover (search for PCC or ECMP).
This I know, I already have several working simple queues and queue tree's in my infrastructure that work perfectly;
But how to make a queue for one interface with 2 vlans on it with each vlan having another subnet/other kind of traffic (so load balancing does not apply here) (VLAN 55 = DATA / VLAN 57 = MULTICAST)
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1197
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:17 am

Well, VLANs are Layer 2 - I don't believe you can "guarantee" layer 3 capacity.

If you have a 100mbps interface, give vlan1 95mbps, and vlan2 5mbps via simple queues. More than that, I don't think you can do.
Regards,
Chris
 
Prewest
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:23 am

Well, VLANs are Layer 2 - I don't believe you can "guarantee" layer 3 capacity.

If you have a 100mbps interface, give vlan1 95mbps, and vlan2 5mbps via simple queues. More than that, I don't think you can do.
Ok, I also have control over the Layer 3 subnets (both VLAN`s have IP addresses assigned on the MK)
Could we make a queue with this?
 
martinclaro
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:08 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:02 pm

VLANS are presented as interfaces by themselves, so you need to use the vlan interface name on the queues.

Again, the queues will not balance the traffic, just will limit it.

On simple queues, you can use the “dst” parameter to set the upstream interface (vlan in this case).
Martín C. @ TopHost Soluciones
MTCNA | MTCTCE
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1775
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:25 pm

how about vlan priority? https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... t_priority + shaping vlan2 to 95% of bandwidth
 
Prewest
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:22 am

how about vlan priority? https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... t_priority + shaping vlan2 to 95% of bandwidth
Could not get this to work, but fixed it in another way..
On VLAN 1 = 80% limit, VLAN2 can have 100% of the entire connection.
Seems to work OK, normally VLAN2 just uses 10/15% of bandwidth.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests