Page 1 of 1

1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:22 pm
by Prewest
Hi,

I`m a little bit stuck, here`s my scenario;

I have 1 interface, 100mbit up and down.
Over this interface I have 2 vlans running, 55 and 57.
Now from the total link I need to prioritize vlan 57 for about 95% of total bandwidth up and down (only when used).

What is the best approach here? Maybe if someone could give me an example?

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:33 pm
by anav
Good question, I believe want you want to look into is queues!

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:59 am
by martinclaro
To do that, you will need to do load-balancing + failover (search for PCC or ECMP).
Queues won't help with traffic distribution, but will put a limit to the traffic outgoing from an interface.

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:41 am
by Prewest
Anav:
Good question, I believe want you want to look into is queues!
Martinclaro:
To do that, you will need to do load-balancing + failover (search for PCC or ECMP).
This I know, I already have several working simple queues and queue tree's in my infrastructure that work perfectly;
But how to make a queue for one interface with 2 vlans on it with each vlan having another subnet/other kind of traffic (so load balancing does not apply here) (VLAN 55 = DATA / VLAN 57 = MULTICAST)

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:17 am
by savage
Well, VLANs are Layer 2 - I don't believe you can "guarantee" layer 3 capacity.

If you have a 100mbps interface, give vlan1 95mbps, and vlan2 5mbps via simple queues. More than that, I don't think you can do.

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:23 am
by Prewest
Well, VLANs are Layer 2 - I don't believe you can "guarantee" layer 3 capacity.

If you have a 100mbps interface, give vlan1 95mbps, and vlan2 5mbps via simple queues. More than that, I don't think you can do.
Ok, I also have control over the Layer 3 subnets (both VLAN`s have IP addresses assigned on the MK)
Could we make a queue with this?

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:02 pm
by martinclaro
VLANS are presented as interfaces by themselves, so you need to use the vlan interface name on the queues.

Again, the queues will not balance the traffic, just will limit it.

On simple queues, you can use the “dst” parameter to set the upstream interface (vlan in this case).

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:25 pm
by sebastia
how about vlan priority? https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... t_priority + shaping vlan2 to 95% of bandwidth

Re: 1 interface, 2 vlans, prioritize Vlan2 95%

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:22 am
by Prewest
how about vlan priority? https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:W ... t_priority + shaping vlan2 to 95% of bandwidth
Could not get this to work, but fixed it in another way..
On VLAN 1 = 80% limit, VLAN2 can have 100% of the entire connection.
Seems to work OK, normally VLAN2 just uses 10/15% of bandwidth.