Community discussions

 
csaunders72
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:30 pm

Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:38 pm

Hi,

Current setup - hAP lite running home LAN connected to BT Router

Next - I want to connect a second hAP lite to first hAP lite to extend that LAN. So, it needs be on the same subnet as the other hAP lite with AP running but no DHCP.

The sheer configurability of MikroTik boxes is overwhelming and I can't manage to wade through all of that to find clear instructions on what is probably a very simple task.

So I would greatly appreciate a straightforward tutorial if someone knows where to find one.

Cheers,
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:38 pm

Reset it without default configuration
Create a bridge and add all interfaces to it
Configure wireless settings (SSID/security/channels/transmission power/etc)
Add DHCP client to bridge (or you could leave this step and do configuration based on MAC address)
 
csaunders72
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:30 pm

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:23 pm

Thanks for the reply - with my limited knowledge of MikroTik that makes sense.

Just one clarification - if I've reset the board without default config will port 1 still have an IP address allowing me to use the web config tool or would I need to use the app over USB?

Cheers ...
 
kalamaja
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:24 pm

Without configuration you must use winbox.exe and connect using MAC address.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests