Page 1 of 1

Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:38 pm
by csaunders72
Hi,

Current setup - hAP lite running home LAN connected to BT Router

Next - I want to connect a second hAP lite to first hAP lite to extend that LAN. So, it needs be on the same subnet as the other hAP lite with AP running but no DHCP.

The sheer configurability of MikroTik boxes is overwhelming and I can't manage to wade through all of that to find clear instructions on what is probably a very simple task.

So I would greatly appreciate a straightforward tutorial if someone knows where to find one.

Cheers,

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:38 pm
by erlinden
Reset it without default configuration
Create a bridge and add all interfaces to it
Configure wireless settings (SSID/security/channels/transmission power/etc)
Add DHCP client to bridge (or you could leave this step and do configuration based on MAC address)

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:23 pm
by csaunders72
Thanks for the reply - with my limited knowledge of MikroTik that makes sense.

Just one clarification - if I've reset the board without default config will port 1 still have an IP address allowing me to use the web config tool or would I need to use the app over USB?

Cheers ...

Re: Add second hAP lite as simple AP client & hub

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:24 pm
by kalamaja
Without configuration you must use winbox.exe and connect using MAC address.