Community discussions

 
jwrite2019
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:47 am

Configuration help. Is this possible?

Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:50 pm

Hello,

I have a Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S+IN and wondering if it's possible to have it setup like this diagram below.

I essentially want it to establish a pppoe connection for a pair of ports to a switch, as well as offer a connection for another router to establish its own pppoe (bridge, mirror?).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: Configuration help. Is this possible?

Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:06 pm

Hi

While CRS305 technically can do what you propose, it's not meant to do that: it can do pppoe but not at speed, as it's not fast enough on cpu side.
 
jwrite2019
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:47 am

Re: Configuration help. Is this possible?

Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:19 am

What are the realistic capabilities of this device?

Is there a better device you recommend?

The speed from the provider is 1.75gbps

Thanks!
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Configuration help. Is this possible?

Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:11 am

bad idea

use CRS as Switch, the only purpose to do pppoe or any other Layer 3 configuration will be management purposes not for live traffic
 
jwrite2019
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:47 am

Re: Configuration help. Is this possible?

Wed Sep 25, 2019 12:35 pm

Ok. I appreciate the advice guys.

Thank you!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests