Community discussions

simssj
just joined
Topic Author

Tiered WAN services

Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:41 pm

Here's what I want to end up with:
- When I have an Ethernet connection to my ISP, use it.
- If it's not available, use WiFi-as-WAN (via an existing AP);
- If that's not available, use USB tethering.

I'm new to RouterOS and I'm having a ball learning about it. But I can't get to 100% on the above. I've got the basic WiFi (LAN) working great (3 SSID's), and the upstream connection to my ISP via Ethernet works great, and I've got a USB-Tethered (lte1) connection working great.

But I'm struggling with Wifi-as-WAN.

Can someone point me to a tutorial or offer a representative configuration script that does what I described in the first paragraph? (Doesn't have to be perfect; I can probably work thru any minor glitches, but a decent starting template would be deeply appreciated.)

Zacharias
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: Tiered WAN services

Sat Sep 21, 2019 11:24 pm

You got your wifi configured as AP? in order to use it as WAN it must be in station mode... you must remove it from any bridge, set an IP, configure your routing table and more...

Am sure you will find a lot of info in the wiki...

simssj
just joined
Topic Author

Sun Sep 22, 2019 2:40 pm

Yes; currently the routerboard is configured as an AP. I suppose the 2.4Ghz radio could be configured as a station, as a client to the internet WiFi. But then I lose the 2.4 band and have only the 5Ghz for an AP?

I thought that having the routerboard configured as both an internet WiFi client and a LAN AP would be trivial. Dozens of $30 "travel routers" on Amazon do this out of the box.

My broader question still refers to how I would configure the routerboard to use ethernet when available, fall back to WiFi if not, and LTE if all else fails. I'm sure I'm not the first to attempt something like this...

Zacharias
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:44 pm