Community discussions

rebelyell
just joined
Topic Author

Help to identify the correct products to buy (home net)

Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:07 pm

Hi there,
I'm going to upgrade my house network to something more structured (basically I need VLANs, QoS for gaming, VPN client/server). I would like to start using Mikrotik and RouterOS. I would like some help to define which products to buy. Please find attached a very ugly network layout of what I'm trying to manage.

SWITCH X: CRS326-24G-2S+RM ?
SWITCH Y: a router board or CRS112-8G-4S-IN ?
SWITCH Z: CRS109-8G-1S-2HnD-IN ?

And what about Access points? I would like a seamless network switchover with mobile devices and more than one WLAN. Is that possible?

What are the differences between switches with routing capabilities and router boards? Sorry for the noob question, I'm only an hobbyist :)

My DSL line is 20/1 (that's why I need QoS). Looking to upgrade to a WiMax ISP provider 100/10.
My LTE line is 50/30 but is not stable so I think I'll terminate the contract.

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Help to identify the correct products to buy (home net)

Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:01 pm

My 2 cents:
  • consider using fibre connection between building A and building B. It's not only because 70m is quite a long stretch for anything higher than 1Gbps. Using fibre makes your investment future proof ... and resilient to any over-voltage effects that are about to happen (it's not question about if, it's question about when)
  • for price reasons as well as being future proof, do use separate devices for Switch Y and main router. In addition, CRS are switches with relatively low capacity all-purpose CPU ... while it is possible to use them as routers, they won't perform anywhere near wirespeed when routing.