Community discussions

 
cmassey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:06 am

Ping Vlan interface from access port

Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:46 am

Hello,

I'm setting up a test lab to look at changing the WISP for which I am an engineer from Cisco to Mikrotik. I'm trying to figure out how to make vlans work in RouterOS and have been running into a lot of problems. Currently all I'm trying to do is set up a vlan interface, assign an ip address to it, and be able to ping that interface from an untagged port. For reference, this is what the commands would look like for a Cisco switch:

int vlan9
ip address 10.1.1.1 255.255.255.0

ether9
switchport access vlan 9

Here is what I tried with Mikrotik:

Hardware: CRS326-24G-2S+RM
Firmware: RouterOS 6.44.6 (Long Term)

I logged into the router with the console port and removed the default configuration. I then used the configuration example from https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... _switching and just changed the ports and vlans:

/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether9 hw=yes pvid=9
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 untagged=ether9 vlan-ids=9
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge1 vlan-id=9 name=MGMT
/ip address
add address=10.1.1.1/24 interface=MGMT
/interface bridge
set bridge1 vlan-filtering=yes

It's my understanding that "add bridge=bridge1 untagged=ether9 vlan-ids=9" isn't super necessary because setting the pvid on the port dynamically adds the port as untagged on the vlan, but I kept it because it was in the example.

I set the ip address on a computer to 10.1.1.2/24, plugged it into port 9, and was unable to ping 10.1.1.1. I'm assuming there's something simple here that I'm missing. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Charles
 
User avatar
xvo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Ping Vlan interface from access port  [SOLVED]

Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:16 am

You need to add bridge itself as a tagged member of the vlan, for which you created a vlan-interface.
In other words, this:
add bridge=bridge1 untagged=ether9 vlan-ids=9
should be this:
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=bridge1 untagged=ether9 vlan-ids=9
 
cmassey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:06 am

Re: Ping Vlan interface from access port

Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:50 am

That was it. Thank you so much for the quick reply.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests